MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Building the A-182-1
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Building the A-182-1
electricanada
Rank noob here. I want to build some A-182-1s--the Doepfer switched multiple. Which jacks and switches should I buy on arrow.com? They're having a sale that ends tonight. Also what kind of hookup wire? And if I want to make it an OR combiner, which diodes?

Thanks very much, amigos.
joem
You can get whatever jacks you want. Eurorack uses 3.5mm mono jacks, and the big electronics suppliers don't always have 3.5mm jacks at reasonable prices, so most people get them from DIY shops like Thonk or ModularAddict or others. (I've never tried looking for them on Arrow, so I have no idea whether they have any.) Thonk in particular has a pretty good selection with a lot of pictures and info to help you figure things out: https://www.thonk.co.uk/product-category/parts/jacks/
Their "Thonkiconn" jacks (PJ398SM or sometimes PJ301M-12) are one of the kinds a lot of DIYers like, but if you're going to be DIYing a lot of stuff using other people's PCBs, you'll likely end up wanting some of a few different kinds (Thonkiconn, PJ301BM, PJ302M), since different people use different ones in their designs. If you're not using a particular PCB that needs a particular footprint for this project, then you truly can use any kind of jack you want.

(I only DIY Eurorack, so I'm not familiar with the common jacks of other sizes, but checking DIY shops should give you an idea.)