MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Another Expo-temp for 4069 VCO
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Another Expo-temp for 4069 VCO
MrKathode
Hello, this is my first SOS post. I want to make my own VCO module, so after searching for information from different authors, sites and forums, I started simulating in software a circuit with the 4069 IC inverters based on the Rene Schmitz circuit [1]. I put a different square wave output with PWM, an inverted pseudo-ramp sub-oscillator, buffers with OpAmps, an octave selector and, with the rest of the inverters, an LFO to control the PW.

Now, for frequency control, I am studying how to make an exponential conversion circuit similar to the Hoshuyama version [2] but with a temperature compensation system using a PTS sensor instead of NTC. In the simulation program, I used the PTS voltage divider values that were recommended in the final conclusion of the Openmusiclabs document [3] (10k // (100 RTD + 4.5)). These components are relatively cheap and easy to get on the Internet. To simulate the RTD sensor, I used a resistance of 109.73 (which is the value of the RTD 100 Ω PTS series of Vishay at 25ºC) and I put it in series with a 4.5 Ω resistor. For Iref I decided to use 2.15 nA, similar to the value used by Hoshuyama.

At first I wanted to use the U1 summer inverter OpAmp with gain Av = 1 or lower, but I realized that this system did not get the ideal exponential current gain for 1V/oct and I placed an adjustment trim-pot with a 156 kΩ series resistor in the feedback of U1. Now the voltage gain is approximately Av = 1,6.

There goes the scheme of the part in question:

This is the frequency vs. CV curve:

These are the values obtained in simulator. It can be seen that it goes out of tune between -3 and -1V: