MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

lasercut boat for blacet rails...
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Fractional Rack Modules  
Author lasercut boat for blacet rails...
soup
I've been making a number of rather slim frac modules recently who needed their own home. This is my first attempt at a case but since I don't have a woodshop I had this cut by the local laser place out of mdf. No sanding or painting, just glue and some screws for the rails. I'd probably make a couple minor changes if I made one again but this came out pretty kick ass for a first try. Mr. Green

fracmonkey
I like it!

What did it cost, if we may inquire?
soup
I don't have an exact figure as I had a few panels cut at the same time but I think it was about $35 for materials and cutting from Ponoko. The back is two pieces so I could fit it on one sheet of material, it would cost a little more to have it as one piece. Cheap regardless.
rompler808
Woah, good job. That turned out sweet. thumbs up Props on the 'nanafied SQ-1 nanners .

Some questions for you on the case.
- Did you provide the laser place with some plan?
- I'm assuming those black left and right bits are for keeping the rails together.
- Are those rails from blacet?
- What kind of power supply are you running there?

I'm working on my DIY skills with the goal of building a banana system at some point. On the fence as to if I want to do Frac or 4u. Really inspired by the banana frac stuff though.
soup
Thanks!

The plans needed for laser cutting are just simple vector graphics .eps files from illustrator or similar. I've attached the file I used if you want to see an example.