MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Best EQ plugin
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Software  
Author Best EQ plugin
DT
Sounds like a noob question but what's your fav EQ plugin out there?

I use Logic Pro X, the built in one is quite good / simple

What about your go-to EQ?
UAD? Slate? FabFilter seems interesting with that "solo" button on the frequency you cutting / adding

Nice one and happy 2019 ya'll
jimfowler
If I have to use a plug-in eq it’s fabfilter.
ngarjuna
Acustica Pink for broad cuts and boosts: the combo of the included units (550a, 550b, 5500 & some vintage CAPI I barely use) and easy UI make it a quick way to get great sounding broad moves in a hurry. I mix for a living so I’m eq’ing pretty much all day long and Pink is my go to for sound and speed. The low shelves (killing proximity effect) and presence (3khz) are usually my biggest problem areas and Pink makes really fast work of those cuts while still sounding terrific.

TDR Nova for subtle cuts and boosts: if I have to get surgical with the Q or worry about blending I usually grab for Nova. The parallel action can keep things gentle while the UI and feature set make it easy to zero in on stuff and fix it with minimal intrusion. Has the solo per band, spectrum analyzer, dynamic eq. Very advanced and transparent.
ETA: somehow I neglected to mention that Nova is FREE!

Honorable mention to the Sie-Q from Soundtoys which is another great example of a great sounding EQ that makes very fast work of eq’ing.

One thing I’ve learned is that for me, when it comes to EQs, more features just get in the way more. It’s rare cases that require special features so I reserve my use of such devices for the cases where they’re needed.
Tunatoboggan