MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Re-creating vintage sampler, need help with VCF
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Re-creating vintage sampler, need help with VCF
LowHiss
I'm a software engineer with very limited knowledge of electronics and I have started re-creating my favourite sampler/drum machine/sequencer from the 80's using an Arduino & Raspberry Pi.

That machine is the Emu SP-1200. If you're not familiar, it's a legendary sampler with a very particular sound and a cult following even to this day.

It was designed by Dave Rossum which some of you in the synth & eurorack world may know for other things.
It has been used on a lot of music, from the first Daft Punk album (they actually had 7 chained in midi for their live performance at the time I believe) to Phil Collins, to most of the big hip-hop producers of the 90's like Pete Rock, DJ Premier, Lord Finesse, J Dilla...

Here it is along with my shoebox prototype and breadboard:

As a fairly long-time user, the two most appealing things to me are the ease of use and intuitiveness of its interface, and its very specific sound and character. Some of which is due to the way it interpolates samples when tuning them up/down, and some due to its analog filter (SSM2044), 12bit AD/DA (AD7541) and output stage.

Most of the original components are now discontinued, except for the SSM2044 VCF which has been reissued and slightly updated in the form of the SSI2144, in partnership with Dave Rossum. I'd like to try and include this filter in my project.

The datasheet for the filter is available here (under Products > SSI2144 VCF)
The service manual for the SP-1200 is available here, it includes all the schematics from page 67 to 88

I have quite a few questions, but I'll start with a couple: