MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Video Synthesis as Image Processing
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Video Synthesis  
Author Video Synthesis as Image Processing
kangcut
Hey all, long time lurker first time poster.
I'm a vfx artist and narrative film director. When I came to video synthesis it was with an eye on how it could be applied to narrative work. So far I've been doing experiments running out from a macbook, into at a 3trins & Optiglitch. I just got an mx1 mixer that I'm currently learning how to use.

by way of example here's a collage video I just made that culminates in a video synthesized effect:

^link https://vimeo.com/307200059

I've found some threads about the idea, but there doesn't seem to be that much being said on this subject, so I wanted to make this topic, hopefully, as a place for the discussion to live and attract new interest. Rockin' Banana!

FetidEye
Cool Video!

I use my video synth mostly as image processor, for colorising videofeedback and warping edges and effects.

I'm in the proces of trying to get full RGB video input in my DIY system, to get even more control over the colorisation process.
this can be achieved with LZX Cadet modules and some modding.

The 3TrinsRGB and the basic LZX Cadet setup only offer 1 channel (luma) video input. This is somewhat limiting.

For the colorisation I use the Sandin Function generator in combination with Processors (video attenuverters) and mixers.
The Castle ADC and DAC offer interesting color features too. especially if you use these modules for each color. You need 3 ADC's . The DAC is already dual, so 2 DACmodules is enough to achieve it.

With the Castle Logic module you can get all kinds of keying / fill-ins done.
This has a powerfull effect when used with video input.