MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Mixer setup options: pre v post vs dry kill v wet...
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> General Gear  
Author Mixer setup options: pre v post vs dry kill v wet...
MrTurboparrot
Hi guys,

Bit of a producer's challenge here: I have recently bought an Alesis 12r rack mixer for home use. I'm no pro, but I can grasp the (very) basics of pre and post aux sends, just about.

I appreciate most delay and reverb should be post-fader (generally). The issue with the 12r is that it has one post, and one pre-fade.

I have a TC electronic Hall of Fame and Flashback I want to use.

here's the rub: the TC's both have dry kill (an internal switch).

Which is the best setup:

1. reverb post, delay pre, both dry-kill (100% wet)
2. reverb pre, delay post, both dry-kill (100% wet)
3. reverb post, delay pre, no dry kill
4. reverb pre, delay post, no dry kill

Phew... Dead Banana

I know there are more permutations, but let's go with the basics for now!

What would you choose, and why?
diophantine
You'll almost certainly want the dry kill switched on (100% wet), because that will allow you to mix your wet & dry signals back in the mixer.

Personally I'd go for putting the delay post-fader, and the reverb pre-fader. I sometimes like to have just the 100% wet reverb signal for some really interesting sounds.

In my own setup I have six aux channels with reverbs on both pre- and post-faders
MrTurboparrot
good ideas - thanks diophantine.
Ra
I can only second the reverb pre, delay post, 100% wet option.
Delay feels more effective (?) when it's in relation to the original sound, based on the things I did so far. With the reverb pre fader you can move things much much farther back in space.