Bizmuth Chaotic Signal Router

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
medium Rob
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:40 pm

Bizmuth Chaotic Signal Router

Post by medium Rob » Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:19 pm

https://www.errorinstruments.com/a-5455 ... w-bizmuth/

Anybody using one of these? Can't find a proper manual, but the module is explained on the Error Instruments website. It seems straightforward, but it's also confusing:

"The module has three identical switches with three IO Jacks each: A, B and C. All operate according to the same four step connection sequence: A B C, A-B C, A-B-C, A B-C, and so on. A dash (-) indicates a connection"

every jack works as either an input and an output, i just don't quite understand how the switches (not a surface-mounted type of switch) work.

"All jacks are bi-directional, which means you can use them as inputs and outputs as well. For example, you can route a signal from the B IO jack to A, A and C, or just C, just like you can route two signals from A and/or C to B. Here you can see a simplified graphic from the switch sequence. In the actual sequence there are four times as many switch positions."

Image

so, you wouldn't patch together two B jacks (on the same 'B' switch), for instance?

"Bizmuth has three preexisting connections also known as normalisations, which help you to realize more complex routing and to generate gates. All B IO jacks are normalised from top to bottom, and if a 16 pin power connector is plugged in, 5V is normalised to the top switches B IO jack. The actual gate out voltage is 4.8V

That means, that as long as you don’t plug a cable in a B IO jack, it will be connected to the B IO jack abowe [sic], or 5V if it’s the top one. Try leaving all B IOs empty and patch any A or C IO to a gate or trigger input! Turn the knob of the switch and notice the gates! A total of 6 gates can be generated if you use all A andC IOs."


Again, it's fairly straightforward, but I'm kinda confused. Better just start wiggling w/it, I s'pose

User avatar
Dragonaut
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 678
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:00 pm
Location: Lake Placid, NY

Post by Dragonaut » Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:01 pm

Yeah, it took me an hour to wrap my head around this thing when I looked at it a month ago and now I don't think I completely understood it all. I can't figure out why there wouldn't be a master output for each switch.
https://soundcloud.com/acaciabridge (IDM, Ambient, Bass, Downtempo)
www.instagram.com/dr_science_phd (synths, hikes, and views.)

timdrage
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:28 am

Post by timdrage » Thu Mar 07, 2019 9:20 am

I've been really curious about this and close to buying one but I'm now guessing it's probably just three rotary encoders and a normalled 5v offset!? So i could build myself one for almost nothing, tho of course it wouldn't have the really cool panel which gives me nostalgia for childhood enamel badges :)

Does anyone know if there's any more circuitry in there or if it's just literally 3 encoders wired up as switches to the 3 sets of jacks? Surely there must at least be resistors to passively mix the A B and C? Else on some settings it would connect outputs to outputs, which people always say is a bad idea :deadbanana:

Anyway looks like a great instrument for live cutups!

User avatar
CaneMan
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Albany, NY
Contact:

Post by CaneMan » Thu Mar 07, 2019 11:05 am

OK. You can make quickly changing gates at the twist of a knob. For sanity's sake, If I think of column B as the in column and columns A and C as the out columns, it's really easy to understand. It just has that Error Instruments patina of, "Is this something I would actually use?" Maybe on my experimental rack.

User avatar
dekemcculo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Post by dekemcculo » Thu Mar 07, 2019 11:49 am



this demo makes it look so fun :party:

User avatar
MarcelP
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1582
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:52 am
Location: England, Saffron Walden

Post by MarcelP » Thu Mar 07, 2019 11:55 am

CaneMan wrote:OK. You can make quickly changing gates at the twist of a knob. For sanity's sake, If I think of column B as the in column and columns A and C as the out columns, it's really easy to understand. It just has that Error Instruments patina of, "Is this something I would actually use?" Maybe on my experimental rack.
Could be useful to get a few - and with a bit of cross patching one would have a manually operated Enigma machine?

User avatar
Pighood
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1929
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:48 pm

Post by Pighood » Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:15 pm

Ordered one from Perfect Circuit a month ago...still “coming soon”
*phnert*

User avatar
Virusinstaller
Common Wiggler
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 6:48 am
Location: Australia

Post by Virusinstaller » Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:53 am

That demo on Instagram makes it look really cool.
Could just sit there for an hour noodling around with the knobs making ever changing drum patterns.

User avatar
Dragonaut
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 678
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:00 pm
Location: Lake Placid, NY

Post by Dragonaut » Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:47 am

I really dig the panel design on this thing. Uniform systems are cool and all but a design like this highlights the modular aspect really nicely.
https://soundcloud.com/acaciabridge (IDM, Ambient, Bass, Downtempo)
www.instagram.com/dr_science_phd (synths, hikes, and views.)

User avatar
f33d
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 299
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:13 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Post by f33d » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:08 am

I thought I could, but I can't wrap my head around this.
It can mix/route up to 6 trigger inputs, but where would I put them in? Does it matter? Would it be the first two horizontal rows or vertical? And the remaining 3 would be the outputs. Would there be the possibility of all 6 to be present at some output or is it only a 3 x 2 Trigs Combiner? So many questions.

NARC NOISE
Common Wiggler
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 6:54 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Post by NARC NOISE » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:58 am

I just ordered one (amongst a few other modules) from Error Instruments in the Netherlands. It would appear they still have them in stock

https://www.errorinstruments.com

User avatar
dekemcculo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Post by dekemcculo » Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:42 am

think of it as 3 rows of passive mults with (1,2,3) each having 3 jacks (a,b,c). each knob corresponds to one row and as you turn it, it cycles thru connections with one knob position representing no connection between a,b,c, then connecting a-b, then a-b-c, then just b-c. theres a bunch of these cycles per knob rotation so that slight movements of the knob correspond with changing connections. column b has cascading normalization so if u plug an input to 1B you could have 6 outputs from columns A and C.

ok, then if you connect the module to power, 1B gets +5v unless you plug something in. this means as you turn the knob youre cycling thru connections of 5V to outputs. 5V going on and off aka gates.

another cool demo:
[video][/video]

User avatar
Pighood
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1929
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:48 pm

Post by Pighood » Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:07 pm

Perfect Circuit got their back order units delivered....mine's coming Friday. :fap:
*phnert*

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10661
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:41 am

I'm still worried that this module creates Out-Out connections that it shouldn't be making. :eurosmoke: I haven't heard otherwise yet!

I would also love someone answering whether the following is true or false:
If I plug triggers to the following A1 B1 C1, A2 C2, A3 C3, wouldn't I be getting combinations out of the 7 triggers at the B3 output?

A B and C are all IO. Every B is connected to the one above and B1 is 5V when nothing is plugged. In my example the normalization to 5V is broken by the incoming trigger signal.



Also,

has anyone used this as a manual clock? How effective is it?
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
cliffemu
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by cliffemu » Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:58 pm

Anyone figure out what this really is?
From their website:
The module has three identical switches with three IO Jacks each: A, B and C. All operate according to the same four step connection sequence:
A B C,
A-B C,
A-B-C,
A B-C, and so on. A dash (-) indicates a connection

This means that one input can only be routed to two different outputs? So if I plug a sound into S1A, then it can only be routed to S1B or S1C? And in 2/4 of the knob states, there is no connection from A to either...

I'm not sure how useful this is by itself, but there's also one twist: All B IO jacks are normalized from top to bottom.
This means a sound plugged into S1A can, in the right knob states, be routed to all possible other jacks. This sounds interesting.
But because the one sound input can potentially route anywhere, you can never plug two sound inputs into this; there would be the threat of two outputs being linked together.

I get the way to use it as a gate generator when you turn the knobs, but I can't imagine how else to use it besides as a 1-in, 8-out switch.

User avatar
dekemcculo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Post by dekemcculo » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:10 pm

If you plug into the Bs, it cuts the normalization. I haven't used the A's or C's as inputs, I'm not sure if there's something preventing possible damage, but plugging multiple inputs into a single row definitely seems like a bad idea. You could plug three things into B1, B2, B3 and the knobs would send them to their respective A's and C's though.

User avatar
cliffemu
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by cliffemu » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:53 pm

too bad if the knobs don't switch the B inputs across the rows.

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10661
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:56 am

dekemcculo wrote:If you plug into the Bs, it cuts the normalization. I haven't used the A's or C's as inputs, I'm not sure if there's something preventing possible damage, but plugging multiple inputs into a single row definitely seems like a bad idea. You could plug three things into B1, B2, B3 and the knobs would send them to their respective A's and C's though.
I tried this with triggers and it ORs the patterns, but there is absolutely no indication that this is safe. The board seems plain, only making connections, with no resistors. The manual states that all jacks are IO so when you're plugging something at A or C you're automatically plugging output to output as B is already normalized to 5V. I like the module, and I enjoy some of its routing options but I think you need to think before using it.

To the best of my knowledge you can do maximum 4:2 OR combinations (re: plug signals in A1, C1, A2, C2, get combinations at A3, C3). You can also do maximum 1:6 plain switching (plug one signal in B1 and get it in any of the A's or C's).
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

er216
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:13 am
Location: NY/NJ

Post by er216 » Wed Oct 23, 2019 6:32 pm

I'm very interested in this module. The "gestural" semi-random/ spontaneous interface is appealing to me. Plus yeah, I like the aesthetics AND the price point, but I'm really concerned about the possibility that it may not be safe to use or have the built-in protections that would prevent me from damaging my gear. It's all well and good to play it safe by keeping to only certain patching combinations, but I know myself... I tend to get a bit loose when I get in the zone in the studio, so I don't want to have to worry that I'm going to break thinks if I make a careless patch.

I wish someone could actually confirm that this definitely is or is not a problem with this module! So far, if I'm not mistaken, people have only said, 'it seems like it could be a problem.' I went to the Bizmuth Modular facebook page and asked the make if he would speak to this concern. If I get a direct reply, I'll share it here.

Otherwise, since it seems like it might be a pretty easy fix, I'm wondering if someone a bit more savy than myself might be willing to draw up a reverse-engineered schematic. If I could build an improved version of this thing, I would!

Lastly, I'm wondering if anyone can recommend a similar module that already has protection against making output to output connections.

User avatar
gl1tchp-udding
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Bizmuth Chaotic Signal Router

Post by gl1tchp-udding » Fri Jan 03, 2020 9:43 am

This convo died, and there’s no info about this thing anywhere. Has anyone else learned more about it or done anything notable with it? It seems like the above questions are still unanswered.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”