MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Pendulum Ratchet Problem - Please Help
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Buchla, EMS & Serge  
Author Pendulum Ratchet Problem - Please Help
jsheaucsb
Hi There!

Just bought a P/R off of the BST section a month back. The module works perfectly, except when it is receiving sync.

When the P/R is master, the ratchet section with clock divide as expected when the pulse input is coming from the "tick" pulse output.

However, when P/R is sync'd, the ratchet section no longer clock divides but rather spits out the incoming pulse signal on all divided outputs.

I've made a video to show the problem [hopefully clearly]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7o9Rh7hydk

I would welcome any info as I'm new to this module and I know its been out for a very long time.

Thanks in advance!

P.S. I suspect the firmware version is 1.02. If there's a simple way to update the firmware, that would also be much appreciated!
meatcliff
I don't own either of the modules involved here but a few things:

Is there any reason why you're using the ref out from the 247v rather than pulse? Ref is a sawtooth oscillator, not a standard sync clock pulse. Have you tried the Ratchet section with with other red pulse outs like the end pulse of a 281 stage?

and from the P/R manual:
Quote:

In fact all the pulse inputs can be clocked from just about any CV source. There is a comparator on
the inputs which will "snap" whenever the voltage crosses a threshold. This threshold is set on the
"Thresh 1" trimmer (VR1), and comes set to 7.5 volts. This trimmer is one of two on the back of the
module.