MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

STO vs. Telharmonic vs. ????
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules  
Author STO vs. Telharmonic vs. ????
slicetwo
I'm about to start building a small 168hp rack to compliment my 0Coast and other gear (AnalogFour, Digitone, Virus C, Octatrack) and I'm debating between these 2 oscillators (along with an Antumbra SMOG - a Clouds clone). Since this is my first time diving in, I'm not even sure if either of those things are right for me. I'm really interested in trying to patch up dynamic sounds that almost sound like acoustic instruments, while still being obvious that they're not "real" instruments (if that makes sense).

Here is a modulargrid of some ideas I have for modules (which will probably take me a loooong time to build out): https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/379983

Thanks!
ggillon
The general advice around here (and it's a good one) is build your modular one module at a time because when you start you don't really have any experience of what you can and want to achieve with your modules.

Now for the question about STO or Thelarmonic;

Telharmonic is based on a DSP and for what I heard from it it sounds very far from acoustic instruments.

STO is a basic VCO and VCO are one of the building blocks of sound sculpting. But as it is it won't give you as much flexibility as a dual VCO that you can patch for FM sounds.

If you really want to go into "accoustic-like" sounds you have to go into physical modelling modules or synths (Karplus-Strong stuff, 2HP Strings or Bells, Volca Drum, etc...)

0-coast is already an awesome sound source as it stands and missing very few stuff commonly found in modular setups. Basically it lacks effects and more modulation sources, otherwise it covers almost all fronts.