MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

looking for two M5L2716K Memory IC for mc-4
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author looking for two M5L2716K Memory IC for mc-4
sleestack808
I have two chipped IC's in my MC-4 the fits two on the CPU board E and D labeled M5L2716K. They are discontinued. Know where I can find a couple? Anything I should know? Are they standard? Im no expert so experts please help would be appreciated
Synthiq
2716 is a 2kx8 EPROM memory made by many manufacturers and are mostly pin and functionally compatible but at least some TMS2716 from Texas Instruments used 3 supply voltages instead of the usual +5V so avoid these. These memories came in different speed ratings but anything faster than 450ns would be compatible with M5L2716K. There is also the 2816 EEPROM, equally obsolete but functionally identical when read but can be erased electrically instead of with UV light.

These memories were used to store the software controlling a microprocessor so just buying the memory will be of no help unless you have access to the original program and a programmer to copy the program to the memory.

You can find 2716 on ebay of unknown quality and Jameco also sells refurbished 2716.
sleestack808
Ok, So what is the black covering on top of the chip? Is it just a ceramic cover? I have two of those IC's that have chipped off black stuff (like plastic).
Synthiq
UV erasable EPROMs all have a glass window on the top so the UV light can reach the chip. The window may be round as in the picture below or square. To prevent the memory from being erased by mistake from ambient light it is normally covered with a label or some other means.
Modulart_JP
1st off, keep in mind that those chips are EPROM's and therefore they have data programmed in them.