MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Recommend a kit!
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Recommend a kit!
tioJim
Hi

I've some time off soon. I fancy getting out the soldering iron and building something. Needs to be minimum fuss so no hunting for rare parts or overly complex calibration though I am an experienced builder and I don't mind if it's big. Would be nice if it comes with an enclosure or one is available from the community so it feels finished sooner rather than later.

Not Eurorack, I've flown that nest, but musical. A synth, a drum machine, a guitar pedal, a studio effect. Surprise me!

Thanks
Jim
tioJim
Or ... a nixie tube project that isn't yet another nixie tube alarm clock!
nurbivore
When you say "kit", do you mean just things that are available with all the parts, everything included?
tioJim
nurbivore wrote:
When you say "kit", do you mean just things that are available with all the parts, everything included?

Yup, good question!

No doesn't have to have ALL parts. I've got plenty of basics in my workshop and can order Farnell/Rapid/RS etc for next day delivery.

But should have an unambiguous/debugged/proven BOM and include anything difficult to source and anything that needs a flashed firmware

Basically I want to hit the bench and be ready to go within a maximum of two orders. The "kit" itself and any easily ordered parts.

But also I don't want it to linger. I don't want it to be sitting there half finished a month later because I'm waiting on some weird ICs or because the BOM's out of date and I didn't get as far as page 9934 of the build thread to find out!
revtor
Sonic potions LXR... not too massive a project, and you get everything in the kit. End up with a great flexible drum machine .
thetwlo
revtor wrote: