MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

S.F. Bay Area - SMT rework help?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author S.F. Bay Area - SMT rework help?
Dave Peck
Hi All,

I have a digital polysynth with a bad DAC chip that needs to be replaced. But it is a very teeny tiny 20-pin TSSOP package SMT chip with very small 0.025" pitch on the solder leads. It's a Cirrus CS4391 KZ :

https://statics.cirrus.com/pubs/proDatasheet/CS4391-4.pdf

I have lots of experience building & fixing my synths, and lots of experience working with electronic hardware products in my day job(s), but currently I do not have direct access to any of the tools needed to properly remove & replace this type of tiny SMT part (microscope, IC de-soldering tool, very fine soldering iron for installing the new part).

I'm in Oakland, just across the bay from San Francisco. Are any of you DIY guys here in the bay area, and do you have the tools to do this rework?

Maybe we can work out a trade? I have some nice new audio cables. Or you're welcome to come over here and go nuts on my massive MU modular. Or feel free to suggest something. PM me! Thanks.
nd595
Hi Dave,
I'm at the other side of the globe (Spain), but it would be quite an easy job if you have right tools - a good 6-8x magnifier, fine tweezers, hot air rework station (some are not expensive - I use a cheap AOYUE) and a syringe with a SMT solder paste.