MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Modular to speakers
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Modular to speakers
otnemem
Hi all,

I'm just starting out building a small modular synth and have a very basic question that i cannot seem to resolve. I'm sorry if sounds silly but couldn't find a solution from the reading i made.

How can i connect my module's output to an audio interface (Focusrite Scarlett 2i2) have connected to my laptop? I keep coming across options that can include a eurorack mixer, VCA etc and issues i could have with getting unbalanced outputs from the modular into a balanced input...

Was thinking of getting a 4ms Listen IO which seems to cover this problem but not sure. Wanted the opinion of some of the experts here if you can! Would be greatly appreciated.

If it helps, i also want to connect external equipment into the modular for signal processing.

Thanks all
Agawell
you should be ok going straight from a eurorack mixer - or vca for that matter - into the audio interface - just keep an eye on the levels

if you have issues then consider getting an output module

using the modular for processing external sources, will however, probably require some amplification to modular levels - something like mutable veils is really good for this as it is actually a vca that amplifies - and you get 4 mixable channels - there are others that also amplify but not too many - if you want the other functionality of an input module then you can add envelope followers, gate/pitch extracters etc with other modules as required
milkshake
otnemem wrote:
Hi all,