MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Real analogue envelopes vs Reaktor/ DC Coupled CV
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Real analogue envelopes vs Reaktor/ DC Coupled CV
Surface Noises
I'm new to modular and have been experimenting with using a DC coupled interface and Reaktor to provide envelopes, LFOS as well as pitch and gate.

I love the tightness of the sequencing now possible from Ableton with CV - which, it seems to me, is much better than MIDI.

But I had a question about the envelopes. Can they ever be as good as 'real' analogue envelopes? I've been trying to recreate the SH 101 and 303 accent envelopes in software and then sending them out of a DC coupled interface.

But they never seem to have quite the snap and twang of the old Roland envelopes.

So my question is this: am I imagining this? Can envelopes produced in software and beamed out through DC coupled interface be as good as hardware envelopes.

Also: hi! I'm hoping to get a bit more active on these forums now I've got into modular world at long last.

Thanks!

S/N
colb
Surface Noises wrote:
Can they ever be as good as 'real' analogue envelopes?

depends what you mean by 'good'
Quote:

I've been trying to recreate the SH 101 and 303 accent envelopes in software and then sending them out of a DC coupled interface.

But they never seem to have quite the snap and twang of the old Roland envelopes.

Accurately modelling things is difficult.
Quote:

So my question is this: am I imagining this? Can envelopes produced in software and beamed out through DC coupled interface be as good as hardware envelopes.