MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Cubase 10 1/2 price, is it worth it?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Software  
Author Cubase 10 1/2 price, is it worth it?
mritenburg
I see Steinberg is having a Cubase 10 1/2 price sale. I can get Cubase pro 10 for $170 on their cross grade offer. That said, I've read that Cubase 10 is very buggy and likes to crash. I use Win 10, so I'm curious to hear actual reports from Cubase pro 10 users who are running on Win 10. Is it stable? How is 3rd party plugin support (I have most of the Waves plugins)?. Any gotchas I should know about? Can you use Cubase pro 10 for professional projects with tons of parallel processing, aux tracks, etc.?
XXXEsq
I've been using Cubase for almost 20 years. Started back in the SX days. Currently running Cubase Pro 10 (10.0.20 build) under Windows 10 64bit. (I also have Ableton which I just use for when my DJ clients/friends want to work in my studio.)

Like any DAW, it takes some learning. They do things their own way. But it is a very powerful system. I find that the audio quality is excellent and the midi capabilities are superior to everything else I've tried, and I've tried them all. It has loads of features which you may or may not use depending on your workflow. The included vstis and effects are actually quite good too. I think that unless you need Pro Tools for your client base (because that is what most majors use), Cubase Pro at that price is a no brainer!

There have been some very buggy Cubase versions in the past (7 comes to mind), but my experience has been that 10 is actually quite solid. It has not crashed once on my system since I started using it. But YMMV.