MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Why does modular gear run at 10V instead of line level?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Why does modular gear run at 10V instead of line level?
chlorinemist
Sorry for the total noob question. I've been googling trying to find an answer to this question and have come up empty.

Why does Eurorack use a nonstandard audio level that requires dedicated preamp and attenuator modules to send normal line level signals in and out? What motivated the engineers to make this unusual design choice?

Thanx!
transistorcat
The short answer is a combination of history (non-euro standards generally have the same ranges), signal to noise (If you have more signal, the noise is less significant), and precision (pitch control signals require a precision that's hard to get at line level voltage swing.
ndkent
Agree. Buchla by the way kept audio and control voltage as separate connections and audio stays audio level.

Moog who served as a template for the vast majority of voltage controlled synths ever built chose to allow control and audio to intermingle for flexibility.

A lot of people love the differentiation of 2 separate paths for Buchla, until they find the lack of both kinds of jacks everywhere.

As to range. Remember that pitch is controlled by voltage. Had one tried to crunch CV for octaves of keys down to a tiny range accurately enough would have cost a fortune. The fairly easy to deal with 1v per octave needs a volt for each octave of pitch.
Graham Hinton
chlorinemist wrote:
Why does Eurorack use a nonstandard audio level that requires dedicated preamp and attenuator modules to send normal line level signals in and out? What motivated the engineers to make this unusual design choice?