MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Small high quality mixer recommendations?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> General Gear  
Author Small high quality mixer recommendations?
lmgrovllum
So, it appears search isn't working and the mixer threads I found by clicking through didn't cover this exact use case...

I've been using a Keith McMillan Kmix for a couple years, and while I love the small size and built-in USB, the built in compressor and eq definitely leave something to be desired, especially when playing live. It doesn't really stand up at all to the Allen & Heath MixWizard I used to use. Also it's easier for me to use knobs + sliders for live performance.

With that in mind, thinking of grabbing something: a) small (only need like 4 inputs + returns) and b) high quality.

Have been eyeing either SSL SiX (cons: no digital audio output) or A+H Xone 96 (cons: RCA inputs mostly... won't ever be using the phono pre amps).

Definitely open to suggestions!
xonetacular
if you are considering a 96- playdifferently model 1 could be interesting for a live situation and has some appealing features, and has d-sub input. $$ though
lmgrovllum
Yeah, I checked out the model 1 but at $3200 and no USB out, that's a tad bit out of my price range. Really overkill since I won't be doing any actual DJ'ing... Nor am I paid enough to really justify that (live set up is basically digitakt + gr1 ad some effects).
SonicVoltage
I keep looking for similar hardware and I even keep debating between analogue and digital. The SSL Six is a sweet option. Small and digital the QSC Touch Mixer range could be worth looking at.

For now I have a Mackie 1402 vlz4 but I would like something with more versatile EQ.
Panason
Do you need digital output for playing live?
lmgrovllum
SonicVoltage wrote: