MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Adding character to recording tone - Home studio
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Production Techniques Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Adding character to recording tone - Home studio
Birth_Chord
I'm a recording noob when it comes to hardware... Absolutely no idea about any of the industry's standards or historical recording gear. All I've used are PreSonus audio interfaces... Right now I have a PreSonus Studio 18|24 which has supposedly completely transparent and uncharacteristic preamps... I usually record at 96kHz+ for my analog synths and my guitar. Everything else I use basically consists of 44.1kHz samples.

When looking to add character to a tone in very small home studio, is that really all the matters mainlyfor guitar, the preamps? (Outside of the guitar and its pickups) I have my pedal chain going right into the XMAC preamps on the interface. I know there are a lot of plugins likely able to add character but I don't understand how musicians go about creating an instantly identifiable sound (money..?)...

Adam Jones from Tool produces my favorite guitar sound ever...Blasting out of some expensive ass Marshalls though if I recall correctly, instantly identifiable to me. For my taste I think Eric Clapton and Santana are two others who have identifiable and highly desirable tones... This changes per person of course as to what an individual deems identifiable.

Is there any sort of budget option available to liven up the tone even a little?

I was considering this PreSonus Tube Preamp, has lots of solid reviews and might be able to characterize my tone a bit? https://www.zzounds.com/item--PRSSTUDIOCHANNEL?siid=62976

I had a tube amp back in high school but it was nothing special. I know that can get insanely good sounding though.