Suggestions for Morphagene 48u Cell ...

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Suggestions for Morphagene 48u Cell ...

Post by ronaldroy » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:27 pm

OK, getting a little system together around Morphagene. 48 is a bit tight but I have a lead on a very cheap case and it would be good to keep it small. Also have a Minibrute 2s (for now) so can also link up to that but would like to keep it self contained for live use - bringing in instrument sounds - percussion (maybe wavedrum) and live mic'ed stuff (solo).

Any comments, help? Got 2hp left ...

Could I ditch Ears and go in to Morphagene direct? Still would need to get levels up though right?

2hp random seems pretty great.

Maybe Maths is overkill in such a small system. Already purchased though.

Always thought a Rene or Meng VM would be a good match up for MG too

Image

User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Post by ronaldroy » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:28 pm

Maybe I should just forget it and go for a Rackbrute ...

User avatar
Jumbuktu
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1267
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Jumbuktu » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:51 am

My own setup:

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/446439

Ok, it's mor than 48hp, but it may give you some ideas.

User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Post by ronaldroy » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:56 am

Thanks. Not miles away from what I originally intended. I think 48hp might be a bit too tight even for something easily transportable.

Where did you get your MG btw?

david_r
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:23 am
Location: SF Bay Area

Re: Suggestions for Morphagene 48u Cell ...

Post by david_r » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:58 am

ronaldroy wrote:Could I ditch Ears and go in to Morphagene direct? Still would need to get levels up though right?
Yes you can ditch Ears, the Morphagene accepts line level. Just be sure to perform the Auto Leveling procedure in the manual.

User avatar
Jumbuktu
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1267
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Jumbuktu » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:59 am

ronaldroy wrote:Thanks. Not miles away from what I originally intended. I think 48hp might be a bit too tight even for something easily transportable.

Where did you get your MG btw?
Control, I think. I was an early adopter. I ordered it as soon as it was announced.

User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Suggestions for Morphagene 48u Cell ...

Post by ronaldroy » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:59 am

david_r wrote:
ronaldroy wrote:Could I ditch Ears and go in to Morphagene direct? Still would need to get levels up though right?
Yes you can ditch Ears, the Morphagene accepts line level. Just be sure to perform the Auto Leveling procedure in the manual.
But ears will take mic level right?

User avatar
SmartBits
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 588
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:46 am
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Post by SmartBits » Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:05 am

I would swap the Ears for a Disting Mk4 and put a 2HP TM in the remaining space. You don't need the Ears for pre-amp functionality.

User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Post by ronaldroy » Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:21 am

SmartBits wrote:I would swap the Ears for a Disting Mk4 and put a 2HP TM in the remaining space. You don't need the Ears for pre-amp functionality.
Good call. Disting wasn't on my radar at all.

electricanada
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1204
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:26 am
Location: Norfolk, VA

Post by electricanada » Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:45 pm

Uburst would be great here.
Eléctrica (electric) Nāda (the yoga of sound).

User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Post by ronaldroy » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:05 pm

As in mini clouds thing?

User avatar
Jumbuktu
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1267
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Jumbuktu » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:24 pm

ronaldroy wrote:Thanks. Not miles away from what I originally intended. I think 48hp might be a bit too tight even for something easily transportable.
The key component for me is the Menq Qi VM. This enables one to quickly switch among several settings on the MG at the touch of a pad. It is particularly useful if you are switching between different splices, and it is possible to use one output for splice location, another for (e.g.) tape speed (pitch), another for grain size, another for morph etc. Not shown in that MG shot is something I added more recently - a couple of Ladik dual slews so the change from one 'patch' to another happns smoothly over time - which can be a beautiful effect.

You could use something smaller like a Pressure Points or Intellijel Tetrapad. I would definitely consider making your case big enough to accomodate some kind of CV controller if you can manage it.

User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Post by ronaldroy » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:09 pm

Thanks, I was thinking along those lines re VM. Rene will be nice but only has 2x CV outs. I think I'll forget the 48hp idea and go for something larger.

User avatar
Jumbuktu
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1267
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Jumbuktu » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:17 am

ronaldroy wrote:Thanks, I was thinking along those lines re VM. Rene will be nice but only has 2x CV outs. I think I'll forget the 48hp idea and go for something larger.
The VM is discontinued. If you can find one used, you could mount it separately in a shallow skiff like a keyboard.

Alternatively, I just saw a new module called harlequin's context by Shakmat. It's only 12 hp and can provide 16 sets of 4 preset voltages plus alternative modulation options like LFOs or envelopes. Looks perfect for a small system. I might get one myself!

david_r
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:23 am
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by david_r » Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:05 am

Jumbuktu wrote:
ronaldroy wrote:Thanks, I was thinking along those lines re VM. Rene will be nice but only has 2x CV outs. I think I'll forget the 48hp idea and go for something larger.
The VM is discontinued. If you can find one used, you could mount it separately in a shallow skiff like a keyboard.

Alternatively, I just saw a new module called harlequin's context by Shakmat. It's only 12 hp and can provide 16 sets of 4 preset voltages plus alternative modulation options like LFOs or envelopes. Looks perfect for a small system. I might get one myself!
Mutable Instruments Frames could be useful for this purpose.

R.U.Nuts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1824
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:43 pm

Post by R.U.Nuts » Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:10 pm

I started Eurorack with a Phonogene which is obviously quite similar to MG. The first thing besides Maths I added to my system was a Turing Machine because I wanted to have some kind of stepped modulation source to jump between slices and genes. So I'd suggest some kind of stepped modulation source. Wether a sequencer, random generator or a bread and butter sample and hold is up to your preference.
And I'd add some nice audio processor. Be it a simple filter, an EQ or a more elaborate filter. I guess a Serge resonant EQ would be wicked. I have an Eowave Fluctuations Magnetiques which is great, too. - And pretty affordable (well "affordable" in Eurorack terms).
Now fit that into 48 HP. :miley:
It's "HP" not "U" BTW. 48 U would be f*ckin huge :eek:

User avatar
Jumbuktu
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1267
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Jumbuktu » Thu Jun 13, 2019 7:42 pm

david_r wrote:
Jumbuktu wrote:
ronaldroy wrote:Thanks, I was thinking along those lines re VM. Rene will be nice but only has 2x CV outs. I think I'll forget the 48hp idea and go for something larger.
The VM is discontinued. If you can find one used, you could mount it separately in a shallow skiff like a keyboard.

Alternatively, I just saw a new module called harlequin's context by Shakmat. It's only 12 hp and can provide 16 sets of 4 preset voltages plus alternative modulation options like LFOs or envelopes. Looks perfect for a small system. I might get one myself!
Mutable Instruments Frames could be useful for this purpose.
I have Frames, and it is good, but it doesn't have a way to precisely select one of the 'frames'. You have to guess where the knob will land, and you will traverse all the intervening ones before you get there. Still nice.

On revisiting Shakmat, I now realise the Harlequin is only at prototype stage, so we'll have to wait a bit before it becomes available.

User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Post by ronaldroy » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:14 pm

Jumbuktu wrote:
ronaldroy wrote:Thanks, I was thinking along those lines re VM. Rene will be nice but only has 2x CV outs. I think I'll forget the 48hp idea and go for something larger.
The VM is discontinued. If you can find one used, you could mount it separately in a shallow skiff like a keyboard.

Alternatively, I just saw a new module called harlequin's context by Shakmat. It's only 12 hp and can provide 16 sets of 4 preset voltages plus alternative modulation options like LFOs or envelopes. Looks perfect for a small system. I might get one myself!
Yes great, that Shakmat looks fab! Similar idea to the VM with some extra goodies.

User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Post by ronaldroy » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:16 pm

R.U.Nuts wrote: It's "HP" not "U" BTW. 48 U would be f*ckin huge :eek:
yes, me idiot. 48u would be nice though! Wonder what the excess baggage would be on that.

User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Post by ronaldroy » Thu Jun 13, 2019 9:43 pm

Jumbuktu wrote:
I have Frames, and it is good, but it doesn't have a way to precisely select one of the 'frames'. You have to guess where the knob will land, and you will traverse all the intervening ones before you get there. Still nice.

On revisiting Shakmat, I now realise the Harlequin is only at prototype stage, so we'll have to wait a bit before it becomes available.
You can sequence Frames though right?

User avatar
Jumbuktu
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1267
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Jumbuktu » Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:30 pm

ronaldroy wrote:
Jumbuktu wrote:
I have Frames, and it is good, but it doesn't have a way to precisely select one of the 'frames'. You have to guess where the knob will land, and you will traverse all the intervening ones before you get there. Still nice.

On revisiting Shakmat, I now realise the Harlequin is only at prototype stage, so we'll have to wait a bit before it becomes available.
You can sequence Frames though right?
Yes (but you will need a separate sequencer to generate a CV).

What it doesn't allow is real-time playing of patch presets. In general, I don't use DAW-style planning for my modular pieces - real-time performance seems to work better. By the time you have worked out a sequence and played it back several times, the inspiration is gone.

User avatar
ronaldroy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Australia

Post by ronaldroy » Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:34 pm

Jumbuktu wrote:
ronaldroy wrote:
Jumbuktu wrote:
I have Frames, and it is good, but it doesn't have a way to precisely select one of the 'frames'. You have to guess where the knob will land, and you will traverse all the intervening ones before you get there. Still nice.

On revisiting Shakmat, I now realise the Harlequin is only at prototype stage, so we'll have to wait a bit before it becomes available.
You can sequence Frames though right?
Yes (but you will need a separate sequencer to generate a CV).

What it doesn't allow is real-time playing of patch presets. In general, I don't use DAW-style planning for my modular pieces - real-time performance seems to work better. By the time you have worked out a sequence and played it back several times, the inspiration is gone.
Agreed. Could 'sequence' with a Rene though ... Still would have to work out exactly what CV value corresponds to the Frame etc though I guess, if I understand the module correctly.

VM certainly is more appealing.

That Shakmat is teh shit though.

User avatar
nios
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:32 pm
Location: lost in a dream

Post by nios » Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:04 am

Falistri or Rampage in for Maths would give similar functions and shave off 2hp. In a super compact setup Falistri also can be an extra oscillator, plus has ring mod and a sub divider which would both be ultra useful for boosting the Minibrute 2. Plus it also would look really cool next to a Morphagene which doesn't hurt.

If you used either of the above over Maths and pulled the Disting, you could plop in a Pamela's New Workout which I think would really spring the Morphagene to life and still have extra room to tinker with the Mini and other modules, in rhythmic fashions at that. :cloud:

edit - syntax

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”