MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Applying negative offset and voltages to Buchla modules.
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Buchla, EMS & Serge  
Author Applying negative offset and voltages to Buchla modules.
mousegarden
I've been reading around this forum and there's quite a bit about the dangers of negative voltages and Buchla modules, especially the oscillators. I've got a utility module that gives negative offset, and was wondering if that could be a danger? I'm sure it's not, as it's designed to be used with Buchla, but I'm new to all this Buchla stuff and it's a bit confusing sometimes, just wondered if anyone could elaborate further on this.
Drillionaire
If it outputs a negative voltage at all, it's a hazard to all 200e modules.
mousegarden
Drillionaire wrote:
If it outputs a negative voltage at all, it's a hazard to all 200e modules.

So, I can't use an offset, I've got a Negativespace CVP and I'm worried it may put out negative voltages.
Drillionaire
From the thread about the Negativespace CVP it looks like you can add a negative offset, so that in itself is hazardous to 200e CV inputs.

Additionally if you're going from another format to Buchla, any bipolar waveforms can cause damage if connected to a CV input on a 200e module, including audio signals, LFOs, etc.

The best policy when interfacing with 200e modules is to use some sort of rectification to remove all negative voltages from a signal that will possibly be connected to a 200e module's CV input. If you do that, you can use any CV processor you like before the rectifier circuit to add offsets and the like to bipolar circuits, without worry about accidental negative voltage excursions.

Something like this (you can ignore the resistor labeled 'R' in this image):
milkyjoe