MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Building a setup for an early industrial sound
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> General Gear Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next [all]
Author Building a setup for an early industrial sound
WhatADay
I'm planning on building a small pedal and synth setup for early, primitive industrial type stuff; think Throbbing Gristle, very early Cabaret Voltaire. I'm a guitarist first and foremost, so at the moment I'm using guitar, bass, voice, monotron delay and a cheap/crap multieffect pedal. I want to build an analog setup that will get me closer to the sound I'm after while still utilising the guitar and bass.

I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to gear, so I'm looking for some relatively inexpensive pedals to mangle the guitar, bass and vocals, along with a rudimentary synth and drum machine - the Korg Monotribe seems like it would have been perfect for this, but I've never seen one come up used near me.

What would work well for this? I've posted a few examples below, and I can hear fuzz/overdrive, filtering, various modulations and delays. I know the gristleizer is a big part of the TG sound, but it's very distinctive, and I wouldn't want to veer into copyist territory.

Throbbing Gristle
Cabaret Voltaire - Treated Guitar
Not synth based, but the odd distortion on the guitars here especially - Mars EP
coolshirtdotjpg