MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Ornament & Crime regular? or micro?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Ornament & Crime regular? or micro?
gummyboy
Hi.

It looks like there are regular(12hp?) and micro sized(8hp?). Is there any difference for function wise?
same number of jacks and switches.... Are they same?...just size difference?

I am not good at soldering so I am going to buy pre and pro built one.
Do you recommend one? I saw several people sell built one.

Thanks in advance
Roni
They're exactly the same, just different size.
mdoudoroff
I recommend micro. I don’t think the regular offers any meaningful ergonomic advantage.

The jacks are tightly spaced on either design.
Roni
Unlike a lot of micro versions, the uOC doesn't suffer from any usability drawbacks as it's pretty much a set and forget type of module.
starthief
Having had both, I prefer the micro version -- the layout makes a bit more sense IMHO. The only micro version of any module I would wholeheartedly recommend.

(The version of Plancks with sliders is a maybe; I just haven't used it personally.)
gummyboy
Thanks guys. I go for µO_C.

Any recommendation for builder?

I found this
https://www.perfectcircuit.com/catalogsearch/result/?q=uo_c
bemushroomed
damn, so the original is 14HP (had to check).. quite a bit of difference size wise..

check reverb and sales section here (and on modular grid).
rayultine
I flipped a 14hp o_c for two u_oc's. I thought they would be more cramped than the big one, but I have no complaints. Stellar module!
aintnopicnic
Don't go for the original 14HP, it's a waste of space.
8HP ist perfect.

But I strongly recommend NOT to buy u_OC with small potentiometers,
like the Tall Dog clones. This is really fiddly stuff.