MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Barton Arpeggiator rev 2.0 Issue
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Barton Arpeggiator rev 2.0 Issue
Thinredline
Hello all,
I Have been in contact w/ Mr. Barton and he has helped me immensly so far on this issue, but I thought I'd reach out to the community here instead of pestering him too much. I'm fairly new to DIY synth/Electronics, and self taught. I recently got the BMC arpeggiator rev 2.0 without the expander board. I followed the PDF file from his site for this version but I have not been able to figure it out. Usually I can troubleshoot and get it working but this one has me stumped.
It started out as looking like a simple short, the 10r resistor for +12v would smoke. I made sure and confirmed that my power supply was not reversed and tried again, but same thing. Tested w/ a DMM and I am getting a short across +5v and GND. However there's a few other things that come up as well:

-If the 'Move' pot is turned all the way CCW, it shorts, causing 10r resistor to smoke
-switching diodes from 4148 to 1n914, no change
-on a scope, I can see the pulse output from the PIC, but i no longer see it on the other side of the 100r resistors (leading to the trigger output)
-no change when 'CKEN' shorted to GND
-All of my outputs (trig, gate, cv out) show a constant 5v
-checked components a zillion times and all values are correct, trimpot, pots
-Scope shows me pwm and pulse outputs coming out of the tl074 but nowhere else