MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

How to connect iPad to gear in 2019?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> General Gear  
Author How to connect iPad to gear in 2019?
Neither
I need to connect iPad air 2 with audio equipment. I need mainly midi-connection to control gear with Lemur. I'm very new to Apple products and most of the solutions I find on the internet are at least half a decade old and obsolete.

iPad air 2 has a lightning connector but nothing else.

I've been observing Alesis IO dock I and II but it seems like they don't support iOS 10.

Focusrite iTrack Dock seems optimal with iPad air 2 but it's discontinued and I'm not sure if it works with iOS 10... Also I would need a USB-to-MIDI-adapter.

But aren't these docks just basically a sound card with midi and mic in-outs? I guess they aren't also very portable (don't work with batteries). So why wouldn't I then get a MOTU 828x or similar audio interface? It has a thunderbolt port. Isn't thunderbolt port the same as lightning port? Could I then use PC and iPad with the same interface? And as a bonus I could get non-DC-coupled audio ports.
dumbledog
Gold standard here is generally one of the iConnectivity products. I've had this one in the past which would take care of both your audio and MIDI needs depending on how many inputs you need.
Kent

You’ll need a Camera Connection Kit as well but check these out.
Man-In-A-Suitcase
One of these from Korg https://www.korg.com/uk/products/computergear/plugkey/
CeeJay
No, thunderbolt port is not the same as lightning port!

What you need is the lightning to USB camera connector.
Then you can use almost all USB class complient MIDI and audio interfaces.
tehyar
Have you tried wifi?