MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Explaining to guests how to use modular rig?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Explaining to guests how to use modular rig?
WonderAliceLand
My modular synth is the centerpiece of my apartment. As such, anyone who comes in wants to mess with it. I am a terrible teacher, which is why I don't teach for a living, and thus more or less tell how each module reacts with all the others. By the time Im done, they found that more or less I had given them an impossible to unwind web and have to work through me as an interpreter between them and the modular synth.

Have any of you found a way to bridge the gap between guest and modular rig? I'd love to hear about it! Thanks in advance!
adnauseam
I think you could talk about it all day and really nobody will understand until they try it.

I often say "This thing makes sounds (oscillator, noise), this other thing modified sounds (filter, delay), this thing produces a series of signals when requested (sequencers, envelopes) and this thing here triggers events in other modules (like trigger sequencers or touchpads)"

If their eyes glaze over I usually stop. If the guest continues to be curious I could demonstrate the patching of a simple synth voice.
tIB
'These things make sounds, these things change the sounds, these things make things happen, like changing pitch or starting/stopping the sound.'

Or I'm a serial killer.
cptnal
I'm like this...

lisa
Nobody asks me. grin But if they did I guess I’d just turn it on and the volume up to play them whatever I had patched at that time. I think that’s more interesting than the technicalities, to most people.
racooniac