Explaining to guests how to use modular rig?

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, lisa, Joe.

WonderAliceLand
Common Wiggler

Explaining to guests how to use modular rig?

Post by WonderAliceLand » Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:58 pm

My modular synth is the centerpiece of my apartment. As such, anyone who comes in wants to mess with it. I am a terrible teacher, which is why I don't teach for a living, and thus more or less tell how each module reacts with all the others. By the time Im done, they found that more or less I had given them an impossible to unwind web and have to work through me as an interpreter between them and the modular synth.

Have any of you found a way to bridge the gap between guest and modular rig? I'd love to hear about it! Thanks in advance!
Sputnik Modular Multi-Touch Keyboard, Expert Sleepers ES-9, Expert Sleepers ES-5, Arp 2600, Roland Bitrazer, MFB SEQ-01, Synsi Stomper, Tiptop Audio MA808, Tiptop Audio CB808, Tiptop Audio RS808, Tiptop Audio uZues Happy-Ending-Kit, Zlob Mini Attenuator, G-Storm Spring Tank Reverb, Circuit Slicers ADSR.
Making music and sound effects for videogames I am in various processes of making.

adnauseam
Veteran Wiggler

Post by adnauseam » Fri Jul 19, 2019 12:34 am

I think you could talk about it all day and really nobody will understand until they try it.

I often say "This thing makes sounds (oscillator, noise), this other thing modified sounds (filter, delay), this thing produces a series of signals when requested (sequencers, envelopes) and this thing here triggers events in other modules (like trigger sequencers or touchpads)"

If their eyes glaze over I usually stop. If the guest continues to be curious I could demonstrate the patching of a simple synth voice.

tIB
Stainer!

Post by tIB » Fri Jul 19, 2019 1:54 am

'These things make sounds, these things change the sounds, these things make things happen, like changing pitch or starting/stopping the sound.'