MOTU 2408 mkII Setup issues

Discuss everything related to production, recording, composition, etc.

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
3hands
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:36 pm
Location: Ottawa Ontario

MOTU 2408 mkII Setup issues

Post by 3hands » Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:50 am

Hi everyone! I recently picked this little beauty up for a song, as it had everything I wanted for an interface. PCI, multiple ins and outputs, the lot.

However I’m having a whale of a time setting it up. My computer doesn’t recognize it, and the only thing I get from the computer when I troubleshoot is a little message telling me the unit needs to be plugged in, which it is. I’m using a 6 pin fire wire cable that was recommended, but the rack unit appears to be dead, and I have the speaker with the x through it icon on my screen. I also didn’t get a manual with the unit, and I’m thinking that’s most of my problem. Does anyone have any idea what might be happening?

Thanks so much in advance.
Gum is fun, but not on a cat.

My minds an art gallery.

Panason
is banned
is banned
Posts: 3324
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:56 am

Post by Panason » Tue Aug 06, 2019 12:23 pm

PCI? Probably driver is out of date and not compatible with your computer OS.

User avatar
3hands
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:36 pm
Location: Ottawa Ontario

Post by 3hands » Tue Aug 06, 2019 5:15 pm

I was thinking the same thing. I’m running Windows 7, so had the appropriate driver installed, but still nothing.

Thanks I definitely appreciate any help!
Gum is fun, but not on a cat.

My minds an art gallery.

User avatar
ignatius
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 15487
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: oregon
Contact:

Post by ignatius » Tue Aug 06, 2019 7:30 pm

try different cables.. i've had a bad IEC power cable and bad FW cables before

User avatar
3hands
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:36 pm
Location: Ottawa Ontario

Post by 3hands » Thu Aug 08, 2019 7:55 pm

Swapped cables 3 times and still nothing. Ugh what a pain!
Gum is fun, but not on a cat.

My minds an art gallery.

hru
Common Wiggler
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:36 pm

Post by hru » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:27 am

The Motu 828 mk II does not work with any Firewire Card.
needs old Firewire 400 and a Texas Instruments Chipset is recommended by Motu

Am also looking for
Windows 7 with Audiophile 2496 (and a removed Motu 828 MKII from my good old broken Windows XP Pc)

User avatar
3hands
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:36 pm
Location: Ottawa Ontario

Post by 3hands » Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:10 pm

hru wrote:The Motu 828 mk II does not work with any Firewire Card.
needs old Firewire 400 and a Texas Instruments Chipset is recommended by Motu

Am also looking for
Windows 7 with Audiophile 2496 (and a removed Motu 828 MKII from my good old broken Windows XP Pc)
Hey! Thanks for the response! It came with the PCI card, and the 324 chipset. I may have to find a 424 chip. It’s just a pain in the ass that it takes this long to set up an audio interface!!
Gum is fun, but not on a cat.

My minds an art gallery.

hru
Common Wiggler
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:36 pm

Post by hru » Thu Aug 15, 2019 3:26 pm

if interested, i read somewhere (amazon, germany, must search again) review(s) about people with working firewire card for motu 828mk II

another possibility, if you have room
IBM T61 or IBM X31 laptops have a firewire port (also my broken Intelistation M Pro, but not recommended, this Pc is to loud)
Had both (back then) Motu 828 mk II runs without Problems under XP maybe also under 7

User avatar
3hands
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:36 pm
Location: Ottawa Ontario

Post by 3hands » Wed Oct 09, 2019 6:25 pm

I’m re opening this as I still haven’t gotten this thing working. I have the PCI card with the 324 chip, the actual box and now my 3rd FireWire cable. Am I missing anything to get this thing working? It powers up but my computer simply wont recognize it.

Thanks again everyone, I’m trying to get this thing set up ASAP.
Gum is fun, but not on a cat.

My minds an art gallery.

Panason
is banned
is banned
Posts: 3324
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:56 am

Post by Panason » Thu Oct 17, 2019 3:21 pm

Firewire port on the interface could be dead, it's common.
Try to find a Mac with a firewire port so you can test it?

Does the PCI card show up as installed and active in Windows ?

Post Reply

Return to “Production Techniques”