MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Beginner's question about oscillator
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Beginner's question about oscillator
Branconnier
Hi everyone, I'm new to the modular.

I need some explanations about the oscillator.

What's is the difference between a wavetable oscillator, a complex oscillator and a standard oscillator?

What is the use intended?

Any suggestions?

Thanks
mosorensen
There are a thousand different types of oscillators, so this may be overly simplified, but the basic idea is the following:

A standard oscillator can generate basic waveforms, like a sine wave, a triangle, a saw, and a square, at different frequencies. Some oscillators have separate outs for each waveform, others have a selector to select the waveform. They may also have various other features.

The standard oscillator is a basic building block of synths. Their problem is that they pretty quickly sound pretty boring. And you need more complex waveforms, and changing waveforms, to make the sound interesting.

One way to do this is to change (or modulate) the oscillator's frequency quickly. That takes two oscillators, where the output of the first one determines the frequency of the second one. This is frequency modulation (FM), and it creates a much broader range of sounds (or timbres). You could patch that up with two standard oscillator modules, and many people do that. But since it is a standard setup, it is natural to combine the two oscillators in a single module (along with other features, typically a wavefolder). In a nutshell, that's a complex oscillator.