MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Presonus Studio One Pro - a good beginner DAW?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Software  
Author Presonus Studio One Pro - a good beginner DAW?
EasyToAssemble
Hello. Apologies if this is another beginner question. I'm just starting out into modular, without having a really solid background in music, although I have used a few different DAWs in the past. I'm ultimately looking for a good beginner DAW for home production that will also be a little futureproof for when I start to upgrade and require something more sophisticated.

I'm aiming to produce mostly ambient / drone stuff, incorporating external instruments or field recordings - via external effects pedals - and then record/sequence within the DAW, so not really looking to rely much on plugins or DAW effects, although I would still like the option (eg. I don't yet have a drum machine, so plugins may be useful in the meantime for stuff like that). Studio One Pro allows VSTs, so I'd be looking at that version.

Having looked at some of the options, the Presonus Studio One Pro looks like it might fit the bill. Ableton is also quite intuitive (I've played around on this in the past) though quite a bit more expensive. I have no problem with learning a more complex interface (like Cubase, which I used years ago in college) but I think it might be overkill for someone just leaning the ropes.

So would Studio One Pro be a good place to start that will also serve me into the future, or are there better options out there for DAW-novices?
mritenburg