MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

R*S Stereo Mixer Questions
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Buchla, EMS & Serge  
Author R*S Stereo Mixer Questions
luketeaford
I have been considering getting the R*S Stereo Mixer for a couple of years now, but I was wondering if someone could help me understand how it works:

Possibly this is particular to the Eurorack version...

1. AUX L and AUX R inputs are audio inputs, but what does the arrow under them mean? I would guess IN 2 is normalled to AUX L and IN 1 is normalled to AUX R?

2. How much difference do the THAT2180B (or A or C) ICs make? The manual says A is "better, more $$$"

https://randomsource.net/docs/RandomSource_StereoMixer_Euro_1.3.pdf

3. Does anyone use it with the low pass filtering CV mode and if so can you comment on that? I think I would tend to prefer the "plops" and "abuses" the manual references. It seems using an SSG or DUSG to slew the incoming CV slightly would solve that externally without needing to opt-in to the more difficult trimming procedure.
JesperP
Aux L and Aux Rare external inputs that bypasses the gain and pan controls. Aux L being hard panned to Out L and Aux R to Out R.

1: the arrows indicates the direction the pan moves for the two channels. In the L ch the pan moves from L to R with positive cv’s and the pan pot all the way ccw. The R channel you need to turn the pan pot all the way cw to get the same response.
2: not much difference soundwise as I understand it. I think I put type B in mine.
3: I didn’t do that option on mine. I prefer just to slew my cv’s if I want smooth movements.