Last 3hp in Sequencer box...... what to do???

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
sutekina bipu-on
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 883
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:24 pm
Location: USA

Last 3hp in Sequencer box...... what to do???

Post by sutekina bipu-on » Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:16 pm

Hello wigglers,

I have two little boxes separate from my main euro case. One has a couple voices & utilities and this one has pretty much just sequencing tools.

My setup was slightly different before in it, so I had no free space, but i changed a couple things around and now I have 3hp free I am looking to fill up. I would also be willing to move the Intellijel OR out of the case if there is something truly amazing i could do in 5hp.

Only problem is i'm having a lot of trouble figuring out what would be a cool thing to put in the remaining 3hp. I have a BASTL Wackel Kontakt if I end up needing to fill a 1hp space, but i'd rather have a more useful 3hp module....

A friend suggested I put a sample & hold there, which does sound like a cool / tempting idea. I'm not much of a sample & hold wizard so i guess i don't know what kind of possibilities lie within 4 sequencers and one S&H. I was thinking about a CV mixer as well, but that seems so boring! (though, again i haven't ever really mixed a lot of cv together so i don't know how useful that could be too.)

Image

(That 2hp near the right side is an Intellijel OR.)

Thanks everyone!
Last edited by sutekina bipu-on on Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
synonymist
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 661
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Last 3hp in Sequencer box...... what to do???

Post by synonymist » Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:22 pm

Hello. A 2hp-wide precision adder on the left, and a 1hp-wide blank panel between it and the OR. :)

noisewreck
Common Wiggler
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:51 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post by noisewreck » Sun Sep 08, 2019 7:20 pm


User avatar
Noodle Twister
Common Wiggler
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:22 pm
Location: UK

Post by Noodle Twister » Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:21 pm

3HP Sample/Track and Hold, Noise, and Smooth Random generator

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/zlob-entropy2

User avatar
Alphaman
Common Wiggler
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 7:43 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Alphaman » Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:21 pm

put another sequencer in. for example the Erica Synths PICO Seq or the PICO Trigg which is 4 track 16 step sequencer^^

User avatar
MarcelP
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1677
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:52 am
Location: England, Saffron Walden

Post by MarcelP » Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:51 am

Is that a uO+C in there? I thought that could do S&H functions - could you try that to see if a stand alone S&H would be a useful addition?

User avatar
ggillon
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 502
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:21 am
Location: Belgium

Post by ggillon » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:21 am

Check out the Erica Synths Pico, they have all kind of utilities.

They have a nice random module (Pico RND) generating a LFO, Random trigger, random gate length, S&H, and noise, all in 3HP.

All free rate, or clock divisions/mult if a clock is patched

Image


Extremely useful

User avatar
MarcelP
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1677
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:52 am
Location: England, Saffron Walden

Post by MarcelP » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:41 am

ggillon wrote:Check out the Erica Synths Pico, they have all kind of utilities.

They have a nice random module (Pico RND) generating a LFO, Random trigger, random gate length, S&H, and noise, all in 3HP.

All free rate, or clock divisions/mult if a clock is patched

Image


Extremely useful
Not so useful with no input to the S&H section as the OP then can’t sample and hold his sequencer outputs.

User avatar
ggillon
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 502
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:21 am
Location: Belgium

Post by ggillon » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:51 am

MarcelP wrote:
ggillon wrote:Check out the Erica Synths Pico, they have all kind of utilities.

They have a nice random module (Pico RND) generating a LFO, Random trigger, random gate length, S&H, and noise, all in 3HP.

All free rate, or clock divisions/mult if a clock is patched

Image


Extremely useful
Not so useful with no input to the S&H section as the OP then can’t sample and hold his sequencer outputs.

Then get this one instead?

Image


It's a bit ridiculous to call a 3HP module packing so much stuff "not so useful" IMO. It's a random module, not a S&H module. It outputs clocked random CV. It's exactly the kind of thing you expect from a random module?


If OP prefers a S&H, there is one. If OP prefers random gates/CV (plus an extra LFO and noise), there is one too. There's so many Picos you can find one to suit your needs


e: to be clear I wasn't in any way suggesting the RND as a S&H. Looking at OP's rack I think a random utility module would fit nicely. You can use it to modulate your other sequencers in all kind of wonky ways.

User avatar
sko87pro
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 385
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:38 am

Re: Last 3hp in Sequencer box...... what to do???

Post by sko87pro » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:59 am

synonymist wrote:and a 1hp-wide blank panel
How about this instead? It’s the perfect antidote to those odd-HP panels. Fiddly to install, but I find it very useful.

1HP 6 switches:
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/other-unk ... nterruptor

Image
Last edited by sko87pro on Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:07 am, edited 2 times in total.

Arneb
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 613
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:50 pm

Post by Arneb » Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:00 am

I'm not really seeing anything for modulation CV here, O_C and the Div6 sequencer both being more in the quantized pitch CV sequencing business. A Pico SEQ2 would plug that particular gap.

andybizarre
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:21 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by andybizarre » Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:48 am

Erica Synths Pico A-Logic! Min/Max is great for deriving melodies from various sequencers and modulators.

User avatar
MarcelP
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1677
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:52 am
Location: England, Saffron Walden

Post by MarcelP » Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:33 pm

Yes - that looks more useful for the OPs described rack use. He can sample and hold one or more of his many sequencers - not being able to do that would be...less useful...

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”