MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Guitar preamp to pair with tube power amp
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX  
Author Guitar preamp to pair with tube power amp
BailyDread
Hi all,

I know this subforum doesn't get a whole lot of activity, but for those of us who both patch and play guitar I have a bit of an obscure query:

Does anyone have any suggestions for a guitar preamp to use in conjunction with a Marshall 9005 power amp? I just scored one of these on Reverb for $350, which I'm thrilled about, as it's built in the UK in the late 80's out of the exact same stock of components that was used on the late 70's leads and super basses (Drake transformers!). It's essentially a power section from a JCM 800, doubled for stereo operation, and put into a rack case. I am building this rig so that I can have two separate 1x12" cabs and a separate rack containing the preamp and power amp; this would allow me to be mobile with a 100 watt rig using my little sedan! I like to play really, really loud with delicious tubey tone razz

So my question is, what preamp would you suggest? I've looked into the following:

Rocktron Valvesonic: I actually ordered this from a seller on Reverb but he's dragging his feet for a full week on shipping; still somewhat interested
Intersound IVP: I know Steve A. from Big Black etc uses one of these, and I've always thought his tone was very unique and interesting. I'm not sure if they're one-trick-ponies though
Hilbish Design Beta: Buzz O from The Melvins uses one of these and his tone is cool, but I think I'm looking for something less "sludgy" and more flexible
Marshall 9001: This was the preamp that was originally supposed to be paired with this power amp. Looks completely uninspiring so pretty much looking elsewhere.