250e Octave Transpositions?

Discussing some incredible modules that don't quite fit into the other forum categories.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
User avatar
jesselucas
Common Wiggler
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:58 pm
Contact:

250e Octave Transpositions?

Post by jesselucas » Sat Oct 05, 2019 1:35 pm

Is the 250e capable of octave transposition with the voltge range selectors? For example if a stage is set to 1.2 volts can it transpose it to 2.4, 3.6 etc?

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11617
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Sat Oct 05, 2019 2:40 pm

You need to voltage processor in line to do this. The Studio H 210h and probably the 254h would work well in this case.

User avatar
Happyanimal
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 420
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:12 am
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Happyanimal » Sat Oct 05, 2019 4:06 pm

Or maybe overkill- a quantizer.

User avatar
jesselucas
Common Wiggler
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:58 pm
Contact:

Post by jesselucas » Sat Oct 05, 2019 4:29 pm

Kent wrote:You need to voltage processor in line to do this. The Studio H 210h and probably the 254h would work well in this case.
Would you use Voltge Range selectors in this scenario? I was reading about the MARF 248r and there was mention of octave transposition but I can’t figure out how either the 250e or 248r can transpose by octaves without the other modules as you mentioned.

User avatar
Happyanimal
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 420
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:12 am
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Happyanimal » Sat Oct 05, 2019 4:39 pm

jesselucas wrote:
Kent wrote:You need to voltage processor in line to do this. The Studio H 210h and probably the 254h would work well in this case.
Would you use Voltge Range selectors in this scenario? I was reading about the MARF 248r and there was mention of octave transposition but I can’t figure out how either the 250e or 248r can transpose by octaves without the other modules as you mentioned.
No, voltage range selectors on the 250e just limit the available voltage for a given step. That’s not going to give you real time transpose.

User avatar
mritenburg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1642
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Boston

Post by mritenburg » Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:37 pm

I know this isn’t what you asked for, but I wanted put in a plug for the 249e (I hope BUSA fixes the hardware issues and brings it back). On the 249e you could combine the voltage received at the external input with stage voltage, which would allow you to do real-time transpose. Because it’s a dual sequencer with independent clocks, you could use one sequence to transpose the other.

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11617
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:47 pm

mritenburg wrote:I know this isn’t what you asked for, but I wanted put in a plug for the 249e (I hope BUSA fixes the hardware issues and brings it back). On the 249e you could combine the voltage received at the external input with stage voltage, which would allow you to do real-time transpose. Because it’s a dual sequencer with independent clocks, you could use one sequence to transpose the other.
251e and a voltage mixer; and likely with better voltage resolution.
Last edited by Kent on Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11617
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:49 pm

Here’s how it is done:


[video][/video]

User avatar
ArguZ
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:03 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Post by ArguZ » Sun Oct 06, 2019 2:49 am

Image

Just feed your 250 sequence into one of the inputs and another transposing sequencer, or any sample and hold function into another input.
Set the mixer to 100% level (right) and you will get the combined voltage on the purple mixer out.
You could even go so far and ad a 5th or 3rd or 7th and subtract that in a third input and so get not only full octave transpositions but the notes of a certain scale.

And yes, that would be even better if you use a quantizer and feed that with an LFO or a lorenz function or an any uncertain voltage :)

Post Reply

Return to “Buchla, EMS & Serge”