MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

sequence modifiers?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author sequence modifiers?
Niggle
Hello wigglers,

Im very new to modular, loving it so far.

Im wondering if what I have in mind is possible, im still learning about how all the different modules function...

Im using an octatrack as my sequencer and that isnt likely to change any time soon. What I would like to do though is introduce some automated variations into my sequences, I use conditional trigs already but I would like to take it further.

Are there modules that would modify the data sent out by the octatrack, adding variation to rhythm and pitch automatically?

Thanks
what gives?
The short answer is yes.

Long answer is that it totally depends on what you actually want to accomplish within the eurorack realm. If you're looking to process the signals and convert them back into midi signals for the octatrack it might be a bit of a hassle, but still probably doable. It depends on what level of complexity you're willing to tolerate. hihi

Care to elaborate how you'd like the automation to behave?
Niggle
thanks for your reply.

so currently im sending midi sequences to my modular from the octatrack via a cv ocd box. ideally i would create a simple riff on the octatrack, send it out of cv 1 on the cv ocd box and into a module/modules which would modify the pitch and rhythm of the sequence to provide variation.

any modules that would do this?
fac
Just so I understand your setup, am I correct in assuming that you're sequencing your modular from the Octatrack using MIDI? In other words, do you have a MIDI interface in your modular that takes the MIDI signal from the Octa and outputs pitch and gate (and possibly velocity) CVs ?