MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Adding CV to a 4016 OSC? Is there a rule of thumb?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Adding CV to a 4016 OSC? Is there a rule of thumb?
Darfiss
Hey guys,

so im pretty new to DIY Modulars and i've build a six voices OSC with a 40106, including a passiv mixer.

And it acutaly works fine (my first active module that does something!)

Now next on my list ist adding an active mixer (researching virtual erth mixer's at the moment for that)

And adding CV.

I want my modules to be compatible with the doepfer standart and looked on the doepfer side for informations. But i couldnt find anything regarding values of CV.

I have a Behringer Neutron and the CV values are mostly in the range of 5-6Volts or way lower.

When i build a module, that has a max 12V CV out, wouldt it blow stuff up?

I thought about building CV with vactrols and made my own Vactrols using LDR's, LED's and shrinkingtube, but its hard to find the right resistors for the LED's.
I experimented with the LFO out of the Neutron (if i remember correctly LFO CV out was around 2 Volts...) and the LED responded to slow or to hard.

Should i actualy use resistors for the vactrols? How to handle the difference between the 2V CV OUT from the LFO and a potential module that outputs 12V CV?!

How do you implement CV into your modules? Opamps?

Im pretty new to all of this and i tried searching forum, but couldnt find satisfying answers.

Maybe someone can point me in the right directions?

Thx
jorg
Euro CV is most commonly in the range 0 to +5V; -5V to +5V is almost as common. You could probably safely go as high as +8V; I wouldn't recommend any higher than that.