three way SWITCH in Eagle

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
wahee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 5:31 pm
Location: Belfast

three way SWITCH in Eagle

Post by wahee » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:01 am

hi all

I am designing a switch system and need three inputs into one output

I have a toggle switch with 3 positions.
I can switch 2 positions ok
is there any way I can use the centre pin to have a third input.

I can do this with wire but I was wondering how to manage it in eagle, as I can't seem to find a way to connect the wires in any of the switch libraries I have.

I was hoping for an INPUT C straight down the middle , if that makes sense

Sorry if this is a dumb question.

Image

yes I think this is daft as the centre pin is always connected so there is no way to 'switch' it to anything. I guess I need a 4 way switch. Just getting confused :doh:
Last edited by wahee on Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Crystalline Stricture now on
tonnrecordings.com

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3536
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:12 am

3 pins = 2 inputs + 1 output

you need a 4 pin device

User avatar
revtor
Dialing it in..
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:31 am
Location: North Jerz

Post by revtor » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:13 am

You can create a part, it’s symbol, and it’s footprint. Then you connect the symbol pins to the footprint pads however you want.
Make sure to “use” your new part so it shows up when you “add” a part to your schematic

There are videos for this

User avatar
chuckg
Common Wiggler
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:01 pm
Location: Florida Space coast

Post by chuckg » Sun Dec 01, 2019 9:53 am

You can use a "DPDT ON-ON-ON" switch, and wire it to behave as a DP3T switch. Here's one example. Ignore the confusing comments - they have mixed it up with a DPDT ON-OFF-ON switch, which is not what you want.

https://forum.digikey.com/t/wiring-a-dp ... a-sp3t/924

In this diagram, the common pin is at the center on the right. The three poles are: top left; bottom left; bottom centerish.
….working on it.

User avatar
wahee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 5:31 pm
Location: Belfast

Post by wahee » Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:29 am

Ahh that's really good. That might just work if I can get some ON ON ON switches. I see how it's wired and I think that hopefully I have it right in this latest iteration:

Image
Crystalline Stricture now on
tonnrecordings.com

User avatar
wahee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 5:31 pm
Location: Belfast

Post by wahee » Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:29 am

chuckg wrote:You can use a "DPDT ON-ON-ON" switch, and wire it to behave as a DP3T switch. Here's one example. Ignore the confusing comments - they have mixed it up with a DPDT ON-OFF-ON switch, which is not what you want.

https://forum.digikey.com/t/wiring-a-dp ... a-sp3t/924

In this diagram, the common pin is at the center on the right. The three poles are: top left; bottom left; bottom centerish.
thanks for this!
Crystalline Stricture now on
tonnrecordings.com

cslammy
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:19 am
Location: San Francisco USA

Re: three way SWITCH in Eagle

Post by cslammy » Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:51 am

wahee wrote:hi all

I am designing a switch system and need three inputs into one output

I have a toggle switch with 3 positions.
I can switch 2 positions ok
is there any way I can use the centre pin to have a third input.

:
Hi Wahee
I am pretty new to this forum and can help out--karma, I hope.

after years of DIY/PCB fabs I feel I am OK at eagle.

Modifying a 2x PCB switch--DPDT, SPST, etc to 3x is pretty easy in eagle. If you let me know the size/spacing of the drills (a lot of time they are based on 100mil/2.54mm) and roughly the size pads you need I can create an LBR file and PM it to you. Or if you have a datasheet link that, they always have pad spacing info, or you can PM me if you want.

Also I have a blog post on how to modify eagle parts w/ some basic how-to links if you want to try it yourself--it took me a bit to get the hang of creating and editing EAGLE parts but once the skill was under my belt it changed my approach to DIY.

https://audiodiwhy.blogspot.com/2018/06 ... brary.html

User avatar
EATyourGUITAR
has no life
Posts: 5798
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Providence, RI, USA

Post by EATyourGUITAR » Sun Dec 01, 2019 12:40 pm

wahee wrote:Image
nope
WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

User avatar
wahee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 5:31 pm
Location: Belfast

Post by wahee » Sun Dec 01, 2019 1:21 pm

EATyourGUITAR wrote:
wahee wrote:Image
nope
It's maybe just the limitations of the eagle footprint I have, it can't show ON ON ON.

This should be better:

Image
Crystalline Stricture now on
tonnrecordings.com

User avatar
EATyourGUITAR
has no life
Posts: 5798
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Providence, RI, USA

Post by EATyourGUITAR » Sun Dec 01, 2019 1:47 pm

WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

User avatar
wahee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 5:31 pm
Location: Belfast

Re: three way SWITCH in Eagle

Post by wahee » Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:28 pm

cslammy wrote:
wahee wrote:hi all

I am designing a switch system and need three inputs into one output

I have a toggle switch with 3 positions.
I can switch 2 positions ok
is there any way I can use the centre pin to have a third input.

:
Hi Wahee
I am pretty new to this forum and can help out--karma, I hope.

after years of DIY/PCB fabs I feel I am OK at eagle.

Modifying a 2x PCB switch--DPDT, SPST, etc to 3x is pretty easy in eagle. If you let me know the size/spacing of the drills (a lot of time they are based on 100mil/2.54mm) and roughly the size pads you need I can create an LBR file and PM it to you. Or if you have a datasheet link that, they always have pad spacing info, or you can PM me if you want.

Also I have a blog post on how to modify eagle parts w/ some basic how-to links if you want to try it yourself--it took me a bit to get the hang of creating and editing EAGLE parts but once the skill was under my belt it changed my approach to DIY.

https://audiodiwhy.blogspot.com/2018/06 ... brary.html
hi thanks for the help. I use the 320-938 switch from the switch library.

I have been kindly provided with the symbol but just have not got the knowledge to change the switch for another contact. If you can be bothered, it would be really cool:)
Crystalline Stricture now on
tonnrecordings.com

User avatar
wahee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 5:31 pm
Location: Belfast

Post by wahee » Sun Dec 01, 2019 3:37 pm

Thats what I need, I just need to adapt it for a toggle switch footprint now
Crystalline Stricture now on
tonnrecordings.com

User avatar
cackland
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2232
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:42 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

Post by cackland » Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:45 pm

wahee wrote:
Thats what I need, I just need to adapt it for a toggle switch footprint now
Be sure to let us know the result :)

User avatar
wahee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 5:31 pm
Location: Belfast

Post by wahee » Fri Dec 06, 2019 9:43 am

just as an update. I decided to use a 3pdt on on on slide switch.
Much easier to work with. thanks for all the input on this however
Crystalline Stricture now on
tonnrecordings.com

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”