Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

Post Reply
mouren
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:26 pm

Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by mouren » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:58 pm

Hi folks,

I am having problems with my new Es5 mk3. I just got it from perfect circuit, so, I think it's part of the latest shipment.
The rest of my setup:
Windows 10
ES9 via USB-C to USB-A. firmware 1.1.1.

I plugged ES5 mk3 into my ES9's GT1. And I plugged my new ESX 8GTmk2 into GT2 on the ES5.

I tried tests with both Max MSP using the es5encoder AND VCV Rack's Expert Sleepers modules.

When I am in VCV Rack. I sent out a clock to VCV 8GT module's 1st input, then to VCV ES-5's 1st input, which should be ES5 only. I get nothing on my ES5, but my entire ESX8GT lights up. I tried the other inputs on the VCV 8GT module, and here are the results.
Input 2 on 8GT - 1st output on ES-5, all outputs on ESX 8GT
Input 3 on 8GT - 1st & 2nd output on ES-5, all outputs on ESX-8Gt
Input 4 on 8GT - 1st, 2nd, 3rd output on ES-5, all outpus on ESX-8GT
..
Input 8 on 8GT - 8th output on ES-5, nothing else.

I then tried sending the output of VCV 8GT module to VCV ES-5 module's 2nd input, which should be my ESX-8GT. I got the following.
Input 1 on 8GT - Nothing.
Input 2 on 8GT - 1st output on ESX-8GT.
Input 3 on 8GT - 1st & 2nd out on ESX-8GT.
...
Input 8 on 8GT - 1-7 out on ESX-8GT lights up.


I then tried Max Msp 8. "dac~ 7 8", es5encoder to dac, number box to 1st input of es5encoder~. This should be sending signal only to ES-5's outputs. Here are the results:
1 - Nothing on ES5, All on ESX8GT
2 - Out 1 on ES5, All on ESX8GT
3 - Out 2 on ES5, All ESX8GT
4 - Out 1, 2 on ES5, all on 8GT
...
128 - Out 8 on ES5, none on 8GT
129 - Out 1 & 8 on ES5, none on 8Gt

I then plugged the number box to inlet 2 of es5encoder~,
0 - nothing
1 - nothing
2 - 1st out on 8GT
3 - 2nd out on 8GT
4 - 1st & 2nd out on 8GT
...

So, as you can imagine. I am very confused as to what's going on. I am pretty sure I have plugged in all the cables correctly, all the red stripes pointing to the bottom of the units. The jumper on ES5 is on 2, it came like that. I tried to put ESX8GT on GT3 through 5 on the ES5, same thing.

Just as a reference, in Os' video on Youtube, when the number box was 8, his Output 4 of ES5 lit up. That makes sense, because 8 is what you get if you set the 4th bit of a byte. My has 1-3 on ES5 and the entire ESX8GT lit.


Now, my question is do I have a faulty ES5 ? Because if I do, I will get it exchanged.

Please let me know.

Thank you.

mouren
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:26 pm

Re: Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by mouren » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:07 pm

One additional note, the above test was conducted with nothing else plugged in in my rack. Only, ES9 and ES5.

I have the TipTop Mantis, and I had everything on different sections of the power strip, so, I don't think this is a power issue.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12538
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by os » Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:49 am

VCV has a bug: https://github.com/VCVRack/Rack/issues/1539

Please test with the Silent Way plug-ins in a different DAW e.g. Live.

mouren
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:26 pm

Re: Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by mouren » Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:20 am

Is there a problem with Max Msp externals as well then?

I will download Silent Way and give it a shot.

Thanks.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12538
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by os » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:15 am

Not that I'm aware of but I haven't tested them on Windows for quite a while.

mouren
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:26 pm

Re: Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by mouren » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:34 am

Ok. So, the behavior that I noted in my first post, under the part where I tested the Max MSP. Is that normal?

Second question, do I have to pay for a Silent Way license to use ESX8CV via the ES5?

Lastly, I am testing the ES5 right now. Trying to wrap my head around how it functions. But just using the Outputs knob, it seems to be outputting to the correct gate. But I can't seem to figure out how to send a note MIDI(the gate part) out of ES5 controller without the Voice.

Thank you.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 12538
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by os » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:43 am

You don't need a Silent Way licence to use the ESX-8CV.

In the ES-5 Controller you need to activate the first Gates section, the "1 Chan" knob.

mouren
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:26 pm

Re: Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by mouren » Fri Mar 27, 2020 10:14 am

Any chance of a check or a fix for the Max Msp externals? I noted the issue in my first post.

Thanks.

mouren
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:26 pm

Re: Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by mouren » Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:46 am

Also, my ES-5 Midi vst just timed out? I thought it wasn't suppose to time out?

mouren
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:26 pm

Re: Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by mouren » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:41 pm

Ok. I finally got it to work. Much thanks to Big Job Head here. viewtopic.php?t=220134

So, with silent way ES5 midi plugin everything seems be working fine now. Whew.

However, it seems Max Msp's external is still broken.

Any chance of a fix for that?


I am gonna run my es5 midi plugin for a bit, see if it times out this time.

mouren
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:26 pm

Re: Problems with Es5 mk3 with ES9. Wrong outputs lighting up

Post by mouren » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:53 pm

Ok, I think even if the plugin says timed out, it's still working as it suppose to.

Yey! I dont need to return my ES5.

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”