MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

ES-1: Where am I going wrong?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Expert Sleepers  
Author ES-1: Where am I going wrong?
bil_g
First,let me say that I am a novice diy'er and don't have a modular - just monosynths. Feel free to question any findings.

So, I've only put a couple of hours into figuring this out but I think I have run out of basic solutions. I'm getting shaky/unstable voltages on all outs of the ES-1. My normal setup is:

VC or DC plugin(followed by AC, set to bipolar) -> Fireface ADAT out -> ADA8000 -> ES-1(alone in a Doepfer minicase)

I recorded an example( WAV / MP3 ) with three parts. The first is 10 C's(C0-C9) using SW VC plugin using the DC-coupled headphone outs(7/8) on the Fireface400, which work flawlessly. The second is the same but using the ES-1 connected to the ADA8000, and the third is the ES-1 with the DC plugin moving from 0-5v using the mouse. All are the same Patch-Panel SEM and the same input(FF400)/output(SEM Pulse out) for calibration.

I've calibrated the ES-1 for bipolar and tried voltages from max to min and nothing has had an effect. It is less evident in the lower frequencies but...if you tune the oscillators to higher frequencies, thinking you can use the unusable higher octaves in the seemingly usable lower octaves, you just notice how unstable the lower octaves really are. In other words, while it may sound like it's only an issue in the higher frequencies, it's not.

Other things I've tried:

ES-1 Ground lift
Messing w/ Fireface/ADA8000 output levels
1/4" DB25 going directly to the Fireface inputs 3-6 instead of the XLR DB25 and ADA8000
Different cables and power sources(meaning different Furmans)

None of these made a difference in the fluctuations.

Other things I noticed: