fireface 800

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

Post Reply
Mans
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:20 pm
Location: Rotterdam

fireface 800

Post by Mans » Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:22 pm

On the specs listed here http://www.rme-audio.de/en_products_fireface_800.php it says
Output DA: 8 x 1/4" TRS, servo-balanced, DC-coupled signal path.
This means it should be able to pass DC directly without the AC encoder software right? But I don't the fireface 800 listed as a tested and working device?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13638
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:08 pm

Correct, based on those specs, it should work fine. Just need someone to test it, and I'll add it to the list.

Mans
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:20 pm
Location: Rotterdam

Post by Mans » Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:32 pm

I did some googling and wound up on the SOS review.

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/may10/a ... entway.htm
The major limitation facing any software-based CV generator, including Silent Way, is the ability of your audio interface to maintain a stable DC voltage at its outputs. Alas, most of them can’t, including my own RME Fireface 800.
:despair:

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13638
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:55 pm

It's not clear if the reviewer actually tested that, or just assumed it wouldn't work.

Anyone here actually have a FF800?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13638
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:59 pm

This suggests it wouldn't work, and I'd believe it:

http://www.rme-audio.de/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=21284

User avatar
bil_g
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 6:17 pm
Location: WV

Post by bil_g » Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:18 pm

Yeah, they confused me with that "signal path" bit, as well. It says the same thing about the FF400 but I know the regular analog outs need the AC Encoder. I tried.

Mans
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:20 pm
Location: Rotterdam

Post by Mans » Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:01 pm

Bummer

User avatar
The_Crooked_Man
mad man with a box
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 6:49 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Post by The_Crooked_Man » Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:38 pm

I remember reading comments from people that said that only the headphone outs from the firefaces worked, otherwise I'd have already tried my 800. I'll give it a shot later on tonite with the demo.

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”