MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Commodore Music
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Software Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Commodore Music
Waz
I wanted to get into making some music on a commodore and gameboy. I have the gameboy and LSDJ cartridge en route to my house. Before I plunge into buying a commodore, I'd like to try it out with an emulator and some music software though. What are some of the more popular emulator and music making tools?
Goominim
I have a couple of SID chips that I won't be using. seriously, i just don't get it
Waz
Goominim
I am just getting into this stuff. So an emulator would work best for me. I honestly have no idea what I'd do with those chips.
Bricks

Is now a wiggler.. he is the foremost SID expert I know. You might want to talk to him!
nitro2k01
Gameboy:
Let me make an unsolicited plug. I wrote a guide a couple of years ago. I also run a Gameboy file archive with music/sound tools being the most prominent category, currently.

C64:
The easy route is to buy MSSIAH which lets you use MIDI effortlessly. You could dive into the world of trackers, but then you'd need a disk drive, X1541 cable or other way of loading programs.

VICE is generally considered to be the best emulator.

GOTO80 used to have a guide to music tools and stuff, but it has been deleted since. Archive.org to the rescue! (Edit: And archive.org to the detriment; to make the links work better, right click, copy link location, and only use the second part.)

Lastly, I'd recommend you to join http://chipmusic.org/forums/ for some chip discussion.
Waz
Hmmm... After weeding through pages and pages of c64 fan sites and youtube vids, I've found 2 popular softwares. It seems Cyber Tracker and Goat tracker are the most common. Has anyone had any experience with either of these?