Doepfer bus boards

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
User avatar
revmutt
Knutty For Knobs
Posts: 1037
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: NYC

Doepfer bus boards

Post by revmutt » Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:36 pm

This could have gone here or DIY but it would have looked like an even dumber question there.

I am setting up a Eurocase with a different power supply but using the Doepfer boards. This power supply does not have multiple taps for the +/- connections.

Does that mean when I use two board I run into one's connectors and then out to the second board?

I looked at this http://www.doepfer.de/DIY/a100_diy.htm and I wanted to make music not build bombs.

Help

User avatar
consumed
International Filter Conspiracy
Posts: 3697
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 1:38 pm
Location: nor cal

Post by consumed » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:10 pm

yes you can connect the power from one busboard to another--thats called daisy-chaining. it will work, but it has potential disadvantages for grounding/noise issues. a star configuration would be best. take a look at this page:

http://hotrodmotm.com/distribute_sod.htm

User avatar
revmutt
Knutty For Knobs
Posts: 1037
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: NYC

Post by revmutt » Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:45 pm

Thanks consumed, Interesting. OK..

I wonder if the fact that this rack will have less modules will help keep things under control.

I will also ask the supplier of the power supply.

User avatar
Soy Sos
Dub Surgeon
Posts: 4489
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:38 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Post by Soy Sos » Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:04 pm

I used 2 terminal strips to split off the taps from my power supply.
I'm no expert but more qualified friends told me this would work and
it has. The case pictured has 4 Doepfer bus boards. I hope this helps.
Image

User avatar
revmutt
Knutty For Knobs
Posts: 1037
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: NYC

Post by revmutt » Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:10 pm

Thanks. Pictures always help.

I may luck out and only need one busboard on this rack as it is due to the grande sizes of some of the modules.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”