MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

"Playing" your modular
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author "Playing" your modular
elemental
I'm becoming more and more interested in using a modular in a live performance context. I've been gigging with Ableton Live and MIDI controllers for a couple years or so, and soon I'd like to move to a more hardware-based setup, maybe just for occasional gigs.

What I'm finding is that its almost like starting again; like learning an instrument, which it is. Watching that video of Charles Cohen playing the Buchla Music Easel was inspiring. I aspire, one day, to be able to play a modular & sequencer live, possibly as part of a larger group, or solo, with or without drum machine / sampler for drums and other parts.

Obviously the main thing this takes is Practice. My style is more about grooves than noise; some random elements but mostly rhythmic and/or melodic. Its rare to find videos of modular noodlings far beyond just demos, that are actually about playing and expressing... of course its a fine line and subject to taste aswell.

My first task is to become fluent at my current chosen sequencer (Genoqs Nemo) - although for pure modular stuff it would be nice to have CV outs also.

My question to you lot is, are any of you doing this or preparing for it?
Is there any advice you would give?
MrDys
Have you seen this?

That video opened my eyes a lot in terms of "playing" a modular.
elemental
Thanks, yeh thats a cool video, neat setup he's got there.
That is along the lines of what I'm aiming at... but a bit more portable than the Macbeth!
BananaPlug
Quote:
Watching that video of Charles Cohen playing the Buchla Music Easel was inspiring.