Euroracks hard to fill 'perfectly' (?)

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Euroracks hard to fill 'perfectly' (?)

Post by Muff Wiggler » Wed Dec 17, 2008 9:43 pm

so i made a comment a while ago in another thread, which I could not find.

A comment, made when I first started adding some eurorack stuff to my synth, that one of the downsides with the many panel widths in euro is difficulty 'completely' filling a rack.

well, at the time I had four empty racks - plenty of space to grow - so I just bought the modules I wanted whever I found a good deal on them, never paid attention to sizing or trying to maximize the space in my racks.

anyway, as total dumb, unplanned luck, my euro modules PERFECTLY fit into two racks. pure coincidence.

A pic from ModularPlanner, since the Dalek is still on route to me in the mail. Thanks ModularPlanner!!

Image

in the pic it looks like there's a little space to either side of the Malgorithm. In my real-life racks it's all a PERFECT fit.

I guess it's time to pull out another empty rack and bolt it on there.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9138
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:35 pm

Nice!

I just picked up a A-149-1, 12 HP, I had exactly 12HP left if you don't count the 1/2HP from mixing ASys and Doepfer in the same rack. Another random source, and the racks are perfectly filled, thanks to the 4HP Elfs and the occasional off 6HP module.

Getting those Harvestman modules to fit is a feat! :lol:

User avatar
Cybananna
Funniest Guy
Posts: 2806
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 10:23 pm
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by Cybananna » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:36 pm

yea, that's nice luck! I bought in a similar way and am ending up with one case perfect and one case with ONE HP left. Still, not bad at all.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9138
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:52 pm

3 HP left would be a nightmare for a modular user with OCD. :eek:

User avatar
modularplanner
Grand Master Flash
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:37 pm
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Post by modularplanner » Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:51 am

No, this is my fault :mrgreen: shoddy graphics and also the Malgorithm being 9hp and screwing with my width calcs and not ending up a whole number.

I'll try and redo the graphics for these, maybe snatch some photos instead if I can find some.

sandyb

Post by sandyb » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:15 am

through a combination of a small amount of planning and blind luck i managed to fill my 4x84 hp case with no gaps. :sb:
i found that i couldn't have all the modules exactly where i really wanted them though. i think with eurorack some compromise is almost inevitable due to the variety of module sizes compared to say frac or 5U.

sandy

GCF
Common Wiggler
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:48 pm
Location: Downers Grove, IL

Post by GCF » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:18 am

That is impressive. I guess Scott was right about getting his modules to fit: if you don't want odd sized gaps, just get another Harvestman module.

User avatar
Jari Jokinen
Sensible Wiggler
Posts: 496
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:26 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Jari Jokinen » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:49 am

Doepfer blank panels are handy, but I don't see them around very much. Even the 1HP panel is available again.

I always plan my (re-)configurations with image editor. It is fun.

User avatar
modularplanner
Grand Master Flash
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:37 pm
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Post by modularplanner » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:59 am

dkcg wrote:3 HP left would be a nightmare for a modular user with OCD. :eek:
You would just have to by a Sound of Thunder to fill it :mrgreen: not that it would be much use on its own.

User avatar
Bricks
paper kettle
Posts: 2004
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 2:59 am
Location: Hypermagic Mountain, USA

Post by Bricks » Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:06 pm

Ive got 3 hp left BECAUSE of a sound of thunder!

User avatar
Ivo Ivanov
Sausage Wiggler
Posts: 1025
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:35 am
Contact:

Post by Ivo Ivanov » Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:59 pm

I have about 1/3 of an HP worth of a gap on each right side of both of my AFGs. It's currently causing me to implode with OCD angst :help: :hihi:

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”