AFG... am I doing it wrong?

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
VanEck
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2256
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Contact:

AFG... am I doing it wrong?

Post by VanEck » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:09 pm

Tweaking any of the knobs on the far right side of my AFG seem to do absolutely nothing. I plug an LFO into +PWM CV, -PWM CV, +PPM CV, or -PPM CV... and still nothing. The sound does not change in any way. Is there something wrong with my AFG, or am I just a newb? :bang:
DISHEVELED -- PROMETHEUS BURNING -- FOUR PI MOVEMENT

SysEx Dumpster podcast - modular, gear, and other garbage

User avatar
VanEck
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2256
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Contact:

Post by VanEck » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:11 pm

Nevermind... I am jsut a newb. Figured out that I have to be outputting sound from the "Animated Pulses" for those functions to do anything :doh:
DISHEVELED -- PROMETHEUS BURNING -- FOUR PI MOVEMENT

SysEx Dumpster podcast - modular, gear, and other garbage

User avatar
felix
Loves the manuals!
Posts: 3865
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by felix » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:24 pm

hehehe. I thought for sure maybe you had started with all the knobs fully CCW, but that should have still done something.

One thing that I found a little odd, but easily worked around, is that the dedicated SYNC OUT does not work very well as a sync source (at least for another AFG) when ANTI-MATTER mode is switched on.

In that case, you can just use the SQUARE output as the sync source and use the SYNC Out as your square wave source instead.

In fact, I highly suggest using the Sync out instead of the Square output sometimes. While they are both square waves, they sound a little different.

(Note that the Square out is a separate output from Pulse/PWM, so you don't loose PWM capabilities with the above workaround).
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

User avatar
felix
Loves the manuals!
Posts: 3865
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by felix » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:26 pm

PS - another neat bit of info is that the +/- inputs for PWM and PPM are normalled together.

So if you just plug an LFO into the + input, the same LFO is also applied to the - input. No need to mult beforehand. CV amounts are still independent though.

Very handy if you only have 2 spare modulation sources.
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

User avatar
consumed
International Filter Conspiracy
Posts: 3717
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 1:38 pm
Location: nor cal

Post by consumed » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:30 pm

felix wrote:PS - another neat bit of info is that the +/- inputs for PWM and PPM are normalled together.

So if you just plug an LFO into the + input, the same LFO is also applied to the - input. No need to mult beforehand. CV amounts are still independent though.
nice tip! i was wondering wtf was going on with that.

User avatar
VanEck
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2256
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Contact:

Post by VanEck » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:47 pm

felix wrote:PS - another neat bit of info is that the +/- inputs for PWM and PPM are normalled together.

So if you just plug an LFO into the + input, the same LFO is also applied to the - input. No need to mult beforehand. CV amounts are still independent though.

Very handy if you only have 2 spare modulation sources.
Yeah, definitely thanks for that tip 8)
DISHEVELED -- PROMETHEUS BURNING -- FOUR PI MOVEMENT

SysEx Dumpster podcast - modular, gear, and other garbage

flts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:01 am

Post by flts » Thu Jan 08, 2009 4:12 am

Last time I turned my rig on, the harmonic animation section on my AFG didn't do anything and the animated pulses + alien saws outputted a dull waveform. :eek: I hope it's just something like one of the power cables not plugged in properly after I made some adjustments to the layout...

flts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:01 am

Post by flts » Thu Jan 08, 2009 4:57 am

Yeah, that was it :doh: Well, now I at least know what happens when you leave the harmonic animation power cable unplugged...

User avatar
felix
Loves the manuals!
Posts: 3865
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by felix » Thu Jan 08, 2009 2:47 pm

flts wrote:Yeah, that was it :doh: Well, now I at least know what happens when you leave the harmonic animation power cable unplugged...
Wow, I totally forgot that there was two power cables on the AFG.
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

flts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:01 am

Post by flts » Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:35 pm

felix wrote:Wow, I totally forgot that there was two power cables on the AFG.
Yeah, I seemed to have forgotten that too while moving modules around :lol: There it was, hanging unconnected. Everything worked just fine otherwise, but the two harmonic animation waveforms sounded quiet and dull, and obviously the animation section wasn't working at all.

To celebrate and rejoice, I patched weird things to all harm anim inputs and let the beast loose :sb:

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”