PlanB Model 10 as a compositional tool

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., luketeaford, lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

PlanB Model 10 as a compositional tool

Post by dkcg » Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:27 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdN4EnMI-TQ&fmt=18

4 M10s, 1st one is set to a max length for cycling, 2nd less than that, 3rd les than the 2nd, etc. audio generated by Cwejman, control by PlanB, delay by ASys Echo.

sgnhh
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:20 am
Location: california

Post by sgnhh » Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:29 pm

You have 4 M10s? Fuck, you must be in serious debt with how fast your modular has grown..

User avatar
berfmurret
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:14 pm

Post by berfmurret » Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:33 pm

sick

User avatar
VanEck
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2224
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Contact:

Post by VanEck » Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:18 pm

Hard to understand what you got going on there... but it sounds cool as hell :love:
DISHEVELED -- PROMETHEUS BURNING -- FOUR PI MOVEMENT

SysEx Dumpster podcast - modular, gear, and other garbage

User avatar
felix
Loves the manuals!
Posts: 3865
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by felix » Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:30 pm

awesome, I love that patch.

I'd love to pickup a 3rd M10, I think that would be enough. I'm not sure wether or not I should just bit the bullet and get a MKII, just so that I have the retrigger as an option...but I don't know, I love the fact that the MKIs that I have do not retrigger.
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

User avatar
thetwlo
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4970
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:05 pm
Location: East Bay, CA US

Post by thetwlo » Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:17 pm

excellent! love it.

yeah, I have a mk1 and mk2... i guess if I got 2 more I could get rid of the A-143-1.... but the 2 + the 4 is still perhaps cooler for some things. (out of space so that's just how I think now)

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:57 pm

I have a 143-1 as well, I usually use it for modulations or a quick gesture generator. I love my M10's :D
The 143-1 is a great module, but the different outputs of the M10s make them my first choice, and the 143-1 makes it's way into patches after I use up the M10s. One really cool use for the 143-1 is using it to create triggers and gates with the M17. Some really cool rhythms, and w/o using a polarized mixer and 4 AR gens and 2 M17s, which you would have to to do the same thing as the 143-1.

Is there a mod to make a Mk2 not retrigger? I wouldn't mind at least one not retriggering.
Last edited by dkcg on Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:03 am

VanEck wrote:Hard to understand what you got going on there... but it sounds cool as hell :love:
I don't get what's going on sometimes in the patch too :lol:, but basically, there are 3 or 4 sections, each is one loop of the longest Model10. The ASys Echo has it's range switched for each section (more or less), and the PH-4 and Cwejman ADSR are the main rhythm genrators with the PH-4's rate animated by I think it was the Heisenberg, which also varies cycle length on the 2 not at long env gens. Very little noodling in the recording, I was trying to make something that evolves. Got me thinking about using the M10 and M17 to gate and generate compositions. :D

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:56 am

Added some annotations now...

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”