TKB

Discussing some incredible modules that don't quite fit into the other forum categories.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
chimologic
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

TKB

Post by chimologic » Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:14 pm

SUPPOSED TO BE ARRIVING HERE TOMORROW

:help:

User avatar
parasitk
Learn to swim
Posts: 4939
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:47 am
Location: Lost Angeles
Contact:

Post by parasitk » Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:20 pm

THERE BETTER BE PICS TOMORROW!!! :hyper: :hyper: :hyper:

User avatar
b3nsf
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2279
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 12:24 am
Location: San Francisco

Post by b3nsf » Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:39 pm

:party: :party: :party:

I want one so bad!! 64 steps, holy crap!! 8)

:hail: :hail: :hail:

later,
ben
..
its like saying you experience michaelangelo because there is a picture on your happy meal
--shreddoggie
Last time I checked there was nothing Vanilla about old Chi- Acid....that shit's Chocolate as it gets.
--Kendall Station

chimologic
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by chimologic » Sat Jan 31, 2009 2:48 pm

IS HERE. will try to take pictures when I actually have time to play it, only messed with it for like 10 minutes so far and is awesome.. multiple rows,awesome. touch sensitivity awesome. (pressure output goes all the way up really easily gotta figure otu if I can trim it or attenuate properly somehow) Awesome to split it in several short sequences and ativate with touch too, thats only trick I tried so far. more soon.

now waiting for the rack mixer case to ship here see if the TKB and my 2 m-odules fit in there fine.

Anyone else that has a tkb here: mine came with a power connector that fits totally fine on the m-odule power strip, but there is a second power connector with 6 pins a little thiner but with more depth (same length) whats this for?

C.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9150
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:07 pm

chimologic wrote:IS HERE. will try to take pictures when I actually have time to play it, only messed with it for like 10 minutes so far and is awesome.. multiple rows,awesome. touch sensitivity awesome. (pressure output goes all the way up really easily gotta figure otu if I can trim it or attenuate properly somehow) Awesome to split it in several short sequences and ativate with touch too, thats only trick I tried so far. more soon.

now waiting for the rack mixer case to ship here see if the TKB and my 2 m-odules fit in there fine.

Anyone else that has a tkb here: mine came with a power connector that fits totally fine on the m-odule power strip, but there is a second power connector with 6 pins a little thiner but with more depth (same length) whats this for?

C.
Send it over, I'll take a look and tell ya. :lol: TKB... :hail:

User avatar
consumed
International Filter Conspiracy
Posts: 3717
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 1:38 pm
Location: nor cal

Post by consumed » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:39 pm

chimologic wrote:IS HERE. will try to take pictures when I actually have time to play it, only messed with it for like 10 minutes so far and is awesome.. multiple rows,awesome. touch sensitivity awesome. (pressure output goes all the way up really easily gotta figure otu if I can trim it or attenuate properly somehow) Awesome to split it in several short sequences and ativate with touch too, thats only trick I tried so far. more soon.

now waiting for the rack mixer case to ship here see if the TKB and my 2 m-odules fit in there fine.

Anyone else that has a tkb here: mine came with a power connector that fits totally fine on the m-odule power strip, but there is a second power connector with 6 pins a little thiner but with more depth (same length) whats this for?

C.
i had a brief conversation with chris/paradigmshiftbeats about my tkb--he said:
The QTKB connects with a cable behind the panel to the extra cable that should be on your TKB to give you four dedicated quantized outputs for Rows A-D of the TKB. Really handy for setting up perfectly tuned chords or melody/harmony lines when sequencing or "playing" the touchplates.

User avatar
b3nsf
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2279
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 12:24 am
Location: San Francisco

Post by b3nsf » Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:06 pm

Does this connector only work with the Red CV panel? sounds interesting anyways... :hmm:
its like saying you experience michaelangelo because there is a picture on your happy meal
--shreddoggie
Last time I checked there was nothing Vanilla about old Chi- Acid....that shit's Chocolate as it gets.
--Kendall Station

User avatar
consumed
International Filter Conspiracy
Posts: 3717
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 1:38 pm
Location: nor cal

Post by consumed » Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:59 pm

well, with the quantizer tkb module specifically. so if you found a custom panel with that then you'd be good to go. i never measured the voltage outputs on those pins but i imagine a DIY solution might be easy to implement too.

User avatar
sydilaxe
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:27 am
Location: Toronto, ON

Post by sydilaxe » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:43 am

There are two trimpots on the TKB (behind the panel of course) which adjust the sensitivity. Everyone requires a different touch response, so it might be a good idea to adjust these if you want a different touch response curve. I found that these would sometimes get out of whack after shipping (or transport after a gig). Great sequencer (and sound source)...enjoy!

chimologic
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by chimologic » Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:18 pm

Image

here she is with her m-odule friends.


TKB users: whats the easiest way to make it go back and forth pendulum style? if I plug the pulse at the last step into the direction it actually gets stuck on the last two steps, so far best solution has been to use clock divider, but that only goes up to 8 steps...

this thing is crazy. lots of possibilities.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9150
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:27 pm

I don't believe it makes sound yet... :hihi:

let's hear it! :D :hail:

User avatar
consumed
International Filter Conspiracy
Posts: 3717
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 1:38 pm
Location: nor cal

Post by consumed » Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:40 pm

chimologic wrote:TKB users: whats the easiest way to make it go back and forth pendulum style? if I plug the pulse at the last step into the direction it actually gets stuck on the last two steps, so far best solution has been to use clock divider, but that only goes up to 8 steps...
instead of sending a trigger to the direction, i think you need to send a gate high for the duration that you want it to run backwards (from memory, its been awhile, i sold my tkb awhile ago). try using your fourth row output into the direction, crank up all the steps to test.

a simple trick i liked to do: gang up the trigger outs from multiple stages into the reset input, to break your 16 stages up into smaller groups like substages (like 2x8 or 4x4). use the touchplates to move between the groups. in this case its OK to mult your triggers into the reset input (because no one stage is ever active at a time, i think is the reason).

User avatar
A Dingleberry Monstrosity
eat the kids first
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by A Dingleberry Monstrosity » Mon Feb 02, 2009 12:46 am

I need your address and a detailed schedule of when you are away from your house for.....research purposes.
We make guitar pedals: whimsymachines.com :party:

chimologic
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by chimologic » Mon Feb 02, 2009 1:39 am

consumed wrote:
instead of sending a trigger to the direction, i think you need to send a gate high for the duration that you want it to run backwards (from memory, its been awhile, i sold my tkb awhile ago). try using your fourth row output into the direction, crank up all the steps to test.

a simple trick i liked to do: gang up the trigger outs from multiple stages into the reset input, to break your 16 stages up into smaller groups like substages (like 2x8 or 4x4). use the touchplates to move between the groups. in this case its OK to mult your triggers into the reset input (because no one stage is ever active at a time, i think is the reason).

Yeah if you look close on the picture you'll see that I am using that trick sending steps 9 and 16 to the reset input and splitting it into 2 8 steps that way. is cool.

Another trick I tried tahts pretty neat was sending a clock signal (using the top part of the smooth/stepped generator as my clock) to the vertical clock only, so that I have 16 different 4 step sequences ont he abcd output, that I can select by touching any of the touch surfaces. .

I think that a short pulse is enough to change the direction but you might be right, I'll try it tomorrow night after work.

retrosynth
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:39 am

Post by retrosynth » Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:46 am

To do ping pong you need a pulse divider and a CV mixer. Patch the two step outputs you wish to ping pong between into the CV mixer. Connect the output of the mixer to the input of the pulse divider. Connect the divide by two output of the pulse divider to the sequencer direction input.

-Cary

User avatar
cebec
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1167
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Virginia

Post by cebec » Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:08 am

retrosynth wrote:To do ping pong you need a pulse divider and a CV mixer. Patch the two step outputs you wish to ping pong between into the CV mixer. Connect the output of the mixer to the input of the pulse divider. Connect the divide by two output of the pulse divider to the sequencer direction input.

-Cary
nice one, Cary!

User avatar
cebec
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1167
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Virginia

Post by cebec » Wed Feb 11, 2009 7:03 pm

That works with an ACPR, too. Just mult the second ACPR input to the VC XFADE input and put the knob at 12 o'clock.

Post Reply

Return to “Buchla, EMS & Serge”