MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

I accidentally a green amp
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX  
Author I accidentally a green amp
sduck
I finally finished this kit amp I've been working on for 4 months -

It's green.

Green Amp front by sduck409, on Flickr

Green Amp back by sduck409, on Flickr

Did I mention that it's green?

BTW, this amp sounds absolutely fantastic - as good or better than the absolute best boutique amps I've tried over the years. Not at all what you'd expect from a fairly inexpensive kit amp. And it certainly sounds better than 99.96% of the other green amps out there.
dude
it would be fine if it wasn't orange though

nice work man! how does it sound?
sduck
Thanks! It sounds.. green. Actually, it's a copy of a version of the Dumble amps that has the clean section voiced similarly to a black face fender twin or deluxe. And it pretty much nails that sound, as well as a lot of other things - it's got a really flexible preamp. Back in the 80's I played guitar in a bunch of bands, and my amp of choice was a black face fender twin, so I know the sound well. And the overdrive section of this amp - is amazing. You probably know the sound - Santana has used one of these for his recordings for most of his career. Another fairly well known user is Robben Ford. Actually, the list of famous guitar players that have bought Dumble amps is pretty amazing - all the rock gods of the 70's and 80's are on there pretty much. Which is also amazing as the guy only built about a dozen amps a year - his total output is around 400 amps so far. If you want a Dumble amp these days you generally buy a clone - the real ones are unobtanium new, and the old ones sell for around 50K when they do pop up.
dude
you are our local rock god SlayerBadger!
skyex