ADDAC601 – 8 BAND VC FIXED FILTERBANK

New Interfaces for Analog Synthesizers.

Moderators: Kent, infradead, __ag

User avatar
VCOscillator
Common Wiggler
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:30 am
Location: UK

Post by VCOscillator » Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:04 am

That silverface looks awesome. I am contemplating contacting Addac and asking to buy a silverfaceplate seperately for my recently purchased redface but I kind of like the red.

All my other modules have silver faceplates so it stands out nicely. Amnesia if you get a chance could I see a wider pic of how the silverface looks as part of your system please?

withakay
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 365
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:40 pm
Location: UK

Post by withakay » Fri Jun 14, 2013 4:29 am

Gah, I hovered over the 'buy' button too long and now the 601 is sold out at both schneiders and post modular. The still have them at rubadub but the price is £60 more, any ideas when a new batch can be expected?


User avatar
bj_gzp
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 647
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Bruxhell

Post by bj_gzp » Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:25 am

Denis Goekdag wrote:Just got two of these. Sounds REALLY good :tu:
Did you try already a "vocoder" style patch?
One 601 to analyse a signal and the second to process another.
I only own 1 601, and will not get a second just to try this out. But i think this ptach could be fun. :guinness:

Konrad Seifert
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:28 am
Location: Berlin

Post by Konrad Seifert » Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:34 am

I had 2 601s and tried the vocoder patch. It sounds good, but the freqs of the bands bands are not optimized for classic vocoder applications.

Works really great with drumloops, though.

User avatar
bj_gzp
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 647
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Bruxhell

Post by bj_gzp » Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:14 am

That it will not sound like a vocoder was to be expected. It has limited number of bands as well. What sounded interesting was putting using a Shepard generator on all the bands and run a drone though it. I could kick myself for having sold the A191...

It sounds good on drums, but i prefer using ResEQ on them.
However i can't stop putting the 601 after a 101 or 111 wav player. To give the aliasing the a nice color :)

User avatar
ADDAC System
Common Wiggler
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 12:39 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Contact:

Post by ADDAC System » Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:55 am

Hello!

New demo videos for the ADDAC601 can be found here:
[video][/video]
[video][/video]

All the best,
ADDAC Team
Questions? Assistance? Hit me up via PM or send us an email!

ADDAC System | [www.addacsystem.com]

User avatar
phutureboy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 729
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:03 pm

Post by phutureboy » Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:57 am

Great job ! Parabéns ! Your videos look as professional as your modules.

I just read the User's Guide and couldn't find which 8 fixed frequencies were chosen, could you send me a link where I can get this information por favor ?
FS: EXPERT SLEEPERS ES-5 | EMS Analyse Filterbank B1-II | EMS AKS | RSF Expander I & II | PEARL Syncussion SY-1

User avatar
flo
Space Jack
Posts: 4941
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:37 am
Location: Zurich

Post by flo » Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:52 am

The frequencies are listed on the page (see "features"):

http://www.addacsystem.com/product/adda ... filterbank

User avatar
phutureboy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 729
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:03 pm

Post by phutureboy » Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:44 pm

Thanks. Is there any way to change them ? Some trimmer on the PCB or something of the kind ?
FS: EXPERT SLEEPERS ES-5 | EMS Analyse Filterbank B1-II | EMS AKS | RSF Expander I & II | PEARL Syncussion SY-1

User avatar
flo
Space Jack
Posts: 4941
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:37 am
Location: Zurich

Post by flo » Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:26 am

I think I read somewhere that you can request custom ones when you order a 601. Don't really remember where I read that though...

User avatar
opsysbug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 8:51 pm
Location: NYC-Jackson Heights

Post by opsysbug » Thu May 01, 2014 9:21 pm

Just picked up one of these at Control in Brooklyn today after playing
with it for like 10 minutes. Nice! Great to have an Andre creation in the house!!

User avatar
mono-poly
Le Cheff
Posts: 5423
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:40 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Post by mono-poly » Thu Jul 03, 2014 11:38 am

Addac should make a modulation source for this awesome module.
The farad is the captain of my print.

http://www.mono-poly.nl
http://www.noodlebar.org

WTB blue lantern purple vco

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10670
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:50 pm

ADDAC already has the coolest modulation sources.
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
mono-poly
Le Cheff
Posts: 5423
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:40 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Post by mono-poly » Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:06 pm

Well something to modulate the 8 bands.
Like the morph function on the 296e.
The farad is the captain of my print.

http://www.mono-poly.nl
http://www.noodlebar.org

WTB blue lantern purple vco

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10670
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:07 pm

Get the Complex Random and a JAG and you're set for modulation sources!
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

duck1887
Common Wiggler
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 8:54 am
Location: New Jersey, USA

Post by duck1887 » Sun Jul 06, 2014 7:47 pm

Like opsysbug, I just got a new 601 from Control, and I am sorry to report that it is acting very oddly, and I hope maybe y'all can help.

Mostly the problem is that the band knobs don't do anything, either to the wet/mix outs or to the individual outs; nor does CV modulation (haven't tried the env followers). Or sometimes the top row does, but oddly, sounding more like a weird, jumpy filter sweep than a boost/cut of a particular band (this is true of the input volume knob as well). When a band's attentuation knob does work, then so does its CV jack, but also oddly, e.g. affecting the whole row. (I do know that the bands aren't completely independent, but this is much more extreme.) The switches do work as they're supposed to though.

What could cause this?? Is it not getting enough power? (If so, I can't see why; nor is it bumping up against a neighboring module either.) Is there a jumper on the back I have to switch from "acts oddly" to "works properly"? :hihi:

I will probably take it back (where it will no doubt act perfectly normally, making me look foolish), but if anyone has seen this and/or knows what to do that would be great. I really want to like this module, as it seems poised to take over my entire rig (figuratively speaking)! :help:

User avatar
Summa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2737
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:52 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Summa » Mon Jul 07, 2014 3:56 pm

duck1887 Sounds like you have a faulty module or some power issues... got mine a month ago and it is everything I ever wanted from a filterbank.. (and yes I've tried the Buchla version and it has some more features :despair: ) just send addac an email and ask for support or go back to Control and get it sorted.

User avatar
Summa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2737
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:52 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Summa » Mon Jul 07, 2014 4:00 pm

Paranormal Patroler wrote:Get the Complex Random and a JAG and you're set for modulation sources!
plus the 501B expander for slew and gates out!.. I had no idea it slewed the outputs of the main unit I thought it only worked for the expansion... anyways, indeed a great companion to the 601, I currently run a patch where a MI Frames modulates the 601 and I find that to be a great match too.. so many options with all these modules..

duck1887
Common Wiggler
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 8:54 am
Location: New Jersey, USA

Post by duck1887 » Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:27 am

Summa wrote:duck1887 Sounds like you have a faulty module or some power issues... got mine a month ago and it is everything I ever wanted from a filterbank.. (and yes I've tried the Buchla version and it has some more features :despair: ) just send addac an email and ask for support or go back to Control and get it sorted.
Thanks Summa, will do. I did put it in a different case with different power and it did the same thing :waah:

This is even keeping me from patching, as all I can think when I try is how cool it would be to use the 601! When all is well I will definitely be :banana:

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10670
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:00 am

Summa wrote:
Paranormal Patroler wrote:Get the Complex Random and a JAG and you're set for modulation sources!
plus the 501B expander for slew and gates out!.. I had no idea it slewed the outputs of the main unit I thought it only worked for the expansion... anyways, indeed a great companion to the 601, I currently run a patch where a MI Frames modulates the 601 and I find that to be a great match too.. so many options with all these modules..
Yeah, I've been meaning to get one of those but I always spend my money on MIDI stuff. :lol:
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
CF3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3017
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by CF3 » Mon Aug 11, 2014 6:41 pm

Big thanks to Andre & Co. for hooking me up with a silver 601 panel. Looks fantastic. Really loving the Filterbank.

Image

User avatar
Hirsbro
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:40 am
Location: Tisvildeleje Denmark

Post by Hirsbro » Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:57 am

@ ADDAC

Do you have any 601 in stock atm? if not when?


GaryInHuaHin
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:58 am

Faulty ADDAC601

Post by GaryInHuaHin » Tue Mar 31, 2015 2:38 am

For anybody experiencing problems, I just discovered that the power connector on mine is inserted backwards. Compared notes with a buddy and it is definitely assembled incorrectly

Message in to the manufacturer. Hope they are responsive.

Post Reply

Return to “ADDAC System”