Korg Monotribe modifications thread

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
zaphod betamax
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 3:24 pm
Location: sarnia

Post by zaphod betamax » Sun Aug 04, 2019 11:31 am

I started out with 1 Monotribe, but now I have 6!
darmklacht@gmail.com wrote:I wish I could mod my Monotribe to be a self cloning device...

zaphod betamax
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 3:24 pm
Location: sarnia

Post by zaphod betamax » Sun Aug 04, 2019 11:32 am

The MutaTribe Mark1: spliced DNA of Monotribe and Korg EA-1 genes!


FrankenZynth:
2 Parts Monotribe, low and high paraphonic note for the VCOS and vibrato
1 Part Korg EA-1 for its 2 part motion sequenced filter for Monotribes.
Backed up by TT-78 4 on the floor,
Waldorf Blofelf patch H034 ``1515``
also MS-20kit chained to Mopho duophonically




zaphod betamax
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 3:24 pm
Location: sarnia

Post by zaphod betamax » Sun Aug 04, 2019 11:43 am

Whilst everyone else seems to concentrate on drums mods,
there are only 2 mods I have installed on 5 out of 6 of my Monotribes.

#1 VCO mute mod.
simply a shorting switching 1/8" jack to the square output on the select switch. In normalled position (nothing plugged into the jack), the oscillator is
shorted to ground. If you plug into the jack you break the short and have an output from the square wave.

#2 External CV to Filter Cutoff.
regular non shorting jack to 12k resistor to centre of cutoff pot.
Have successfully fed ADSR envelope from my Microbrute to Monotribe.
Also allows for FM by feeding audio into this.


hamildad wrote:
nitro2k01 wrote:.

... you can use it to bring the OSC up past hearing frequency, then use the filter on external source only and LP out the high bandwidth OSC...

.

zaphod betamax
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 3:24 pm
Location: sarnia

Post by zaphod betamax » Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:06 pm

I was run +10V to the CV IN for Filter Cutoff mod point.
Did not blow it up!


shurikenyo wrote:How about VCF...can we control the filter cutoff with CV from a eurorack LFO or ENV? Or will the monotribe blow up? internal power rail is 5V right...wonder if it can handle +-12V :hmm:

zaphod betamax
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 3:24 pm
Location: sarnia

Post by zaphod betamax » Fri Oct 11, 2019 3:06 pm


rarara
Common Wiggler
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:48 am
Location: glasgow

Post by rarara » Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:05 am

Need a quick bit of help with finding +5V, and this is with a view to doing the HH Decay and SD Noise Decay mods shown above described by marmad previously.

Seems that one of the pins of IC15 supplies 5V, but can this be used for both of these drum mods together, or are they better fed separately?

Also, are there any easier points to take 5V than IC15? Would rather use a nice big pad rather than risk a messing with an IC? It looks like the red side of one of the connector cables meets the thickest trace, so is something like that suitable?

Thanks!

zaphod betamax
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 3:24 pm
Location: sarnia

Post by zaphod betamax » Wed Oct 30, 2019 12:04 pm

You could try from this part of the circuit.
Haven't tried this myself.
There is a part that says Jack +5V

rarara wrote:Need a quick bit of help with finding +5V, and this is with a view to doing the HH Decay and SD Noise Decay mods shown above described by marmad previously.

Seems that one of the pins of IC15 supplies 5V, but can this be used for both of these drum mods together, or are they better fed separately?

Also, are there any easier points to take 5V than IC15? Would rather use a nice big pad rather than risk a messing with an IC? It looks like the red side of one of the connector cables meets the thickest trace, so is something like that suitable?

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

quartzite
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 1:12 am

Post by quartzite » Sun Nov 03, 2019 10:11 pm

Has anyone else had issues with noise when using midi in on the monotribe? There is a sound every message that comes through, even if the synth level is set to zero.

I can follow instructions and solder but my electrical knowledge is sparse. I followed this page (the 6n138 version) https://blog.gg8.se/wordpress/2011/08/1 ... di-and-me/

zaphod betamax
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 3:24 pm
Location: sarnia

Post by zaphod betamax » Mon Nov 04, 2019 10:17 am


Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”