Alternative to a Plan b M10

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
richardm123uk
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Leighton Buzzard, UK

Alternative to a Plan b M10

Post by richardm123uk » Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:52 pm

Hello,

All this plan b talk has made me nervous. Is there an alternative to the M10?.

Cheers,
Richard

User avatar
A Dingleberry Monstrosity
eat the kids first
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by A Dingleberry Monstrosity » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:06 pm

no

if you really want one, buy one. Just get it through a middle man like bigcitymusic or noisebug. That way if you have issues you can return it easily.
Last edited by A Dingleberry Monstrosity on Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
We make guitar pedals: whimsymachines.com :party:

User avatar
richardm123uk
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Leighton Buzzard, UK

Post by richardm123uk » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:07 pm

Cheers,

Going to put in an order today.

User avatar
consumed
International Filter Conspiracy
Posts: 3717
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 1:38 pm
Location: nor cal

Post by consumed » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:08 pm

A Dingleberry Monstrosity wrote:...Just get it through a middle man like bigcitymusic or noisebug. That way if you have issues you can return it easily.
not true. i bought a new defective module from noisebug and was not able to return it.

User avatar
A Dingleberry Monstrosity
eat the kids first
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by A Dingleberry Monstrosity » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:10 pm

dont buy it from noisebug then :eek:

I forgot they're blowing all their modules out :doh:
We make guitar pedals: whimsymachines.com :party:

User avatar
panda30y
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1194
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:14 pm
Location: Detroit

Post by panda30y » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:10 pm

consumed wrote:
A Dingleberry Monstrosity wrote:...Just get it through a middle man like bigcitymusic or noisebug. That way if you have issues you can return it easily.
not true. i bought a new defective module from noisebug and was not able to return it.
why not? Was it under used or clearance stock?

User avatar
REwire
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1959
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:30 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post by REwire » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:12 pm

For replacement if M10, you'd need an Env with a repeat switch: ASystems RS-60 does that plus CV control of decay.

Also "End of Attack" and "End of Decay" outputs: Doepfer A-143-2 has those outs on 4 envs but no repeats. The A-143-1 has the repeat functions but no EOA or EOD and just A/D.

Since nothing has that all in one, Big City Music has Model 10's. They will thoroughly check it out for you before shipping so there's nothing to be nervous about.

Dan
Last edited by REwire on Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Waz
Wiggling with Scurvy
Posts: 2746
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Detroit

Post by Waz » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:23 pm

A Dingleberry Monstrosity wrote:dont buy it from noisebug then :eek:

I forgot they're blowing all their modules out :doh:
Are they dropping Plan B 100%? Thats sad if they are. I noticed they took all the stuff from their new section and put it into the used. I scored a model 26 really cheap.

User avatar
A Dingleberry Monstrosity
eat the kids first
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by A Dingleberry Monstrosity » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:28 pm

from my understanding, noisebug was the official US distributor, when plan B changed everything around and went with the direct buy deal (and big city music as a new distributor) noisebug was left with a lot of plan B modules and they're now blowing em out at fantastic prices! Some for less then used. I didnt know you couldnt return them though!

thats all I know.
We make guitar pedals: whimsymachines.com :party:

User avatar
consumed
International Filter Conspiracy
Posts: 3717
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 1:38 pm
Location: nor cal

Post by consumed » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:29 pm

panda30y wrote:
consumed wrote:
A Dingleberry Monstrosity wrote:...Just get it through a middle man like bigcitymusic or noisebug. That way if you have issues you can return it easily.
not true. i bought a new defective module from noisebug and was not able to return it.
why not? Was it under used or clearance stock?
no. i bought it (plan b module) while noisebug was still a distributor for plan b.
received the module.
discovered it defective some weeks later (i was still building my rack when id purchased it)
by the time i discovered the defect, peter had just announced the end of the relationship between plan b and noisebug
noisebug referred me to peter for the problem
module is still sitting on my desk

(the short and somewhat irrelevant story to explain why i couldnt return my module)

User avatar
dougcl
Number 6
Posts: 4051
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Portland OR

Post by dougcl » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:33 pm

REwire wrote:For replacement if M10, you'd need an Env with a repeat switch: ASystems RS-60 does that plus CV control of decay.

Also "End of Attack" and "End of Decay" outputs: Doepfer A-143-2 has those outs on 4 envs but no repeats. The A-143-1 has the repeat functions but no EOA or EOD and just A/D.

Since nothing has that all in one, Big City Music has Model 10's. They will thoroughly check it out for you before shipping so there's nothing to be nervous about.

Dan
M10 also and significantly has the ramp output for morphing, doppler, etc. control during the envelope. Does any other EG have this?
Last edited by dougcl on Fri Apr 03, 2009 6:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
chinard
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2416
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by chinard » Fri Apr 03, 2009 2:11 pm

REwire wrote:Also "End of Attack" and "End of Decay" outputs: Doepfer A-143-2 has those outs on 4 envs but no repeats.
actually, if you patch EoD back into gate you get repeat. (i do it on my 143-2 all the time)
The 143-2 also has 3 different time scale settings for envelope length (short, medium, long)
Doenst sound too bad with the LPG either.. you get a nice ring on short length env.

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 12022
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:30 pm

chinard wrote: actually, if you patch EoD back into gate you get repeat. (i do it on my 143-2 all the time)
I tried this idea and it revealed the rather bad grounding and bleed in my G6 case. I was using some high gain devices and I could alter the signal significantly by turning the A-143-2's knobs. The A-143-2 only had one patch cable going from EoD to the same channel's Gate input and wasn't connected anywhere. It's not the first time that I've run into grounding issues with Euro-Rack power supplies but it was the most egregious example.

Do you experience the same at all?

User avatar
Malekko
:super awesome ninja:
Posts: 977
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 12:15 am

Post by Malekko » Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:37 pm

I know Josh at Big city music, personally checks every Plan B module...so you're good to go!

User avatar
MrDys
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1913
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:40 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

Post by MrDys » Sun Apr 05, 2009 11:40 pm

REwire wrote: The A-143-1 has the repeat functions but no EOA or EOD and just A/D.
The A143-1 has EOA.

User avatar
chinard
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2416
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by chinard » Sun Apr 05, 2009 11:58 pm

Kent wrote:
chinard wrote: actually, if you patch EoD back into gate you get repeat. (i do it on my 143-2 all the time)
I tried this idea and it revealed the rather bad grounding and bleed in my G6 case. I was using some high gain devices and I could alter the signal significantly by turning the A-143-2's knobs. The A-143-2 only had one patch cable going from EoD to the same channel's Gate input and wasn't connected anywhere. It's not the first time that I've run into grounding issues with Euro-Rack power supplies but it was the most egregious example.

Do you experience the same at all?
yeah i dont get that at all but i am using a DIY#1 power supply in a custom case. Barely had any grounding issues, but i also ground direct to the front panel mounts.
this EoD to gate LFO feature is by design, here is a snippit from the doepfer page on the subject
The module contains 4 independent ADSR-type envelope generators. Each sub-module has available the controls Attack, Decay, Sustain and Release. The three-position Range switch allows to select the desired time range (low - high - medium). The adjustable envelope time ranges from several minutes to some milliseconds. On top of this each sub-module is equipped with three digital outputs (high/low): "End of Attack (EOA)", "End of Decay (EOD)" and "End of Release (EOR)". As soon as the criterion is valid (e.g. end of decay state) the corresponding digital outputs turns to "high". These outputs can be used e.g. to daisy-chain several ADSR sub-modules. For this the digital output in question (EOA, EOD or EOR) has to be connected to the Gate input of the following ADSR. Even automatically running envelopes (pseudo LFOs) or so-called "quadrature envelopes" with cyclical modulations of several ring-shaped, daisy-chained ADSRs are possible. To obtain a pseudo LFO simply the EOD or EOR output has to be connected to the Gate input of the same ADSR.
and in the pdf under user examples is this:
In this example unit# 1 is used as an LFO (EOD is patched to the gate input via multiples). The controls A, D, S and R are used to define the frequency, shape and lower level (S) of the LFO signal. EOD of unit#1 is connected to the gate inputs of unit#2...4 and works as a master gate signal. The four channel example of A-143-1 can be realized with the A-143-2 as well.

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:02 am

MrDys wrote:
REwire wrote: The A-143-1 has the repeat functions but no EOA or EOD and just A/D.
The A143-1 has EOA.
yup - four of them, even :hihi:

As an aside, does anyone have any cool tricks for crosspatching an a-143-1 with an a-143-2? Been looking for something like that for a while, see.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”